The Symantec/Norton Thread.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,745
    Location:
    USA
    Yep, it's not much to look at. I stopped testing this. I'll watch how it goes for others and pick it up again at a later time.
     
  4. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    120
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The only information I have is what is posted here - https://manage.norton.com/beta

     
  6. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    120
    ok thanks @Krusty13 :) will give that a look over. do you know when the final will be released? thanks!
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Nope. They (Symantec) don't share that information with us mere mortals. The historic release time has been August - September, but there is no guarantee that will be the case this year.
     
  8. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    120
    ok thanks , that gives me something to look forward to! :) it's about the same release cycle as it was for AVG they also would not share any information with us AVG hall of famers / gurus / vip's or what ever the heck they call those " special " fans of theirs right now ( that part of my life lies in distant past right now :p )
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton 22.7 Product Update available now

     
  11. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,745
    Location:
    USA
    I'm giving it a run now. On the surface it doesn't look much different than the previous version. I'm hoping it's not as slow, but time will tell.
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    They are pushing Ask in IE a little harder now. :thumbd:

    ... Oh, and if you click the "?" next to a setting to find out about that setting you now need to be signed in to your Norton account to view the Support page. Also :thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016
  13. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,745
    Location:
    USA
    I hope the "?" is still a work in progress. All it did was take me to the Norton support page and ask me why I was there. Pretty worthless.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Jack, if you ask me, I'd say this whole release is still a work in progress. I think they just need more beta testers.
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,745
    Location:
    USA
    I guess that's a good way to get them. I have run betas of several products recently and the forums for all of them seem dead. It must be what it takes to get a response. My web browsing it painfully slow at the moment. Not sure if it is related to the Norton I just installed or if there is a problem with my ISP. I'll give it another day or two and see.
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    right now it is working fine for me
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,745
    Location:
    USA
    Browsing with IE seems fine. It brings Firefox to a crawl. But that isn't new, and the reason I stopped using Norton last time.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It isn't affecting FF on my machine but I have "Always use Private Browsing Mode" enabled, and the toolbar doesn't show up, even though it is enabled.
     
  19. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,024
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,745
    Location:
    USA
    The toolbar is the problem. If I disable it then there is no slowdown.

    General question for anyone that knows...
    I assume this version is still incompatible with Sandboxie?

    --Edit:
    To answer my own question, Sandboxie seems to work if I disable the Norton Toolbar in Firefox. The toolbar loads in IE ok but all sites are displayed as "untested". Since it is running in a sandbox, I guess I do not care about Norton's rating since it doesn't matter in that situation. Not that I am a fan of their toolbars to begin with. I use LastPass so there is nothing there I need anyway. So I guess it is workable, if I decide to keep Norton over the other 2 products I have licenses for, 1 which does not work with Sandboxie at all, and another that works without issue.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,745
    Location:
    USA
    Well, it looks like the slowdown is not Norton's fault this time. Comcast in the evening truly sucks. 90 mbps downstream and you wouldn't think it would take 15 - 30 seconds to connect to a website. That said, still don't know that I'm keeping it. I hate the browser plugins and the nags to use them.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Have you tried different DNS servers? I had a similar issue with pages loading slow and page not found messages but changing DNS made a noticeable difference.
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,745
    Location:
    USA
    I did but it didn't help. I ended up resetting the router and it is much better now.

    I like that Norton is stable and doesn't cause any major problems. If I were to feel that I wasn't crippling it by disabling the browser plugins I would probably keep it. I have seen mixed info on whether that is the case.
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I use Cyberfox more often than any other browser and Norton doesn't support it, but it does scan any files I download with Cyberfox, even if I don't get the Download Insight slide outs. Security History shows the file/s are scanned. Edge isn't supported either but Norton scans files downloaded with it too and I do get the Download Insight slide outs. As you know, there are other layers of Norton's protection, and Norton is just one layer of defence on my machines anyway.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.