"The selected file is not an Acronis*True*Image*Home archive"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JGulliver, Jul 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JGulliver

    JGulliver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    I desperatly need some files from an image that was made with a very early release version of TI 9.0 Home. I currently have the build 3677 installed, but if I try to restore or validate the image I get the error shown in the title above. The image is on 4 dvd's but was originally made onto a USB hard drive (letting TI split it into dvd sized chunks) and later transfered to DVD to save space on the usb drive. The interesting thing is that 1 through 3 give the error message but number 4 shows to be part of a multipart image and will validate up to the point where it asks for the other parts. I have a sinking felling that I am SOL, but I thought I'd check before giving up.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Have you tried using the bootable CD version - current build and the build which was used to create the image?
    Can you mount the image?
     
  3. JGulliver

    JGulliver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    In both cases I get the same error.
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Have you tried copying all tib files into the same folder on a HD and then trying it?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JGulliver,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Could you please do as seekforever suggested and copy the image archives to a single folder on your local/external hard drive and after that try to validate it? Also please try to mount the image as a virtual drive (Operations -> Mount Image). And as tachyon42 said please create Acronis True Image Bootable CD using the latest build (3677) boot you computer from it and try to validate image archives both on DVD discs and its copy on the local/external hard drive. Please let us know the results.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  6. JGulliver

    JGulliver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    I have tried those suggestions and they did not help. The image in question was made shortly after you released v9 of TI. It appears every image I made with that early v9 copy of TI is corrupt. I am quite certain the early 9.0 is to blame, my hope was that there might be a way to salvage files from the corrupt image.
     
  7. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    The very early versions of Ti 9 were capable of producing good images but the respective rescue CDs reported them as bad. Do you have the CD for V8 Build 937 ? I seem to remember that this could mount the early version 9 images and even restore them. The CDs from the latest couple of builds will not work as I believe these are not backward compatable. Build 3625 CD of V9 might be able to do the job.
    Best of luck.

    Xpilot
     
  8. jrude6

    jrude6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    To JGulliver:

    I kept getting the same problem as you with all my archived files - even with files which had been verified OK at time of creation!! I was going crazy. This was with build 2323. After reading this thread of posts, I just updated to build 3677 & presto everything is now OK - no more "this is not a TI archive file".
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.