The program modules have been updated

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by VeeHexx, Dec 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VeeHexx

    VeeHexx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    i've noticed a big increase in this notification message popup over the 7-10days, which is quite abnormal.

    we're using lan update server, and nod32 v4 clients.

    when i say abnormal, on average i've seen this message 5 times a day. peak messages/day is around 13.

    it's happening on multiple machines too, not soly on one machine.

    clients are a mix of win7 x64 and x86 installs.

    it doesnt seem to be causing issues, but it is abnormal behavour...

    edt: i can invoke the update notification by performing a manual signature update in nod32 clients, even seconds apart...
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  2. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
    Have you enabled the "pre-release updates" option within Advanced update setup?

    Please copy the Events log from one of your machines experiencing the issue and paste it here.
     
  3. VeeHexx

    VeeHexx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    pre-release updates - cant find option, but this should be a 'no'/default value.

    https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B-...ZjE2YzQxOTZjMjIy&sort=name&layout=list&num=50

    after looking through ERAS, for the pre-release updates i remember the 'clear update cache' and 'update now' options. So, i have cleared the update cache and re-updated ERAS. manually forcing a client to update itself still results in the "program modules have been updated", but is no longer present on screen. looking through the log, it didnt appear to do this as often..

    for future reference, i'm currently on nod32 v4.2.64.12, 5708 signatures.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010
  4. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
    Yes, default value for pre-release servers option is No.

    If possible, try upgrading one of the machines to latest version (4.2.67) and see if this makes a difference.

    Regards,
    tony
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    working like a charm for me.:thumb:
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Enable pre-release updates on | off: here
     
  7. VeeHexx

    VeeHexx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    thanks for the link siljaline.
    confirmed it is off.

    also, the latest nod32 client seems to of fixed the issue; installed the client friday AM, and now (monday AM), theres been no weird behaviour.

    thanks for the help guys - everything working as expected now :)
     
  8. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Glad to have been of assistance VeeHexx, please let us know if there is anything else we can be of service.

    Regards and Happy Holidays :thumb:
     
  9. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hello:

    Do you use Avast as well as Nod32 on different boxes?

    I only ask as your signature says AVAST in the Nod32 forum:doubt:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.