"The Page cannot be displayed"

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by recusant, Sep 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. recusant

recusant Registered Member

I think I may be too unsophisticated to use this forum -- but here goes. In recent weeks when moving within a link I keep getting at some point "This page cannot be displayed." If I am trying to buy something, for instance, the "This Page Cannot" announcement occurs after I'm all finished and click to the payment page. So I have to find a phone number & buy it by phone, a real drag, or decide not to buy it -- not too bad, after all. I even get eventually a "This Page.." when I'm searching my public library link. I today installed Spybot Search and Destroy, which said it removed all evil things. I went through a Microsoft online tutorial and reconfigured ALL my Internet Options -- By the way, I'm a writer and only user of my cpu which runs Windows XP. However, even when I was running the Search and Destroy program I got the dreaded "This Page..." at one point. This began happening about four months ago. Tonight during insomnia I spent about seven hours on it, including telephone help from my dsl folks and so on. Is all this somehow too lame a question for you folks?

2. Tassie_Devils

Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

Hi recusant, welcome to the forums :)

I have moved your thread from test forum to here for better attention. ~ TAS

If you are getting the "This Page Cannot be Displayed" message when trying to purchase something online, it may be because you have blocked Java Script from running within your browser settings.
    While blocking can be a good thing, it can also restrict certain web functions while browsing, using online payment, etc for one thing.

Or simply, your ISP is having troubles, etc.

Another thing you can try, completely empty all your temporary internet files and cookies, something may be corrupt in there causing this blocking.