The New Norton 2014 Product Line

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by c2d, Sep 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    Works for me on Outlook 2013 64-bit.
     
  2. rinem

    rinem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    156
    Is there a way to turn off automatic Quick Scans? I always starts when im doing an image of my system...
    If its not possible to turn off im going to uninstal NIS. Im getting tired of all this babysitting NIS thinks the user needs.
     
  3. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    No, there hasn't been a way to turn those off since they were introduced in the 2009 version. They run after every Live Update updates the signatures, usually three times per day.
     
  4. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    You could add the imager to the Quiet Mode list or, so a Quick Scan never runs automatically, an executable that is always running.

    LiveUpdate and other things will not run automatically during Quiet Mode, though.
     
  5. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    that's not correct:-if it ran after every live update it would run over 100 times/day,are you sure its not a background scan starting because you PC is more or less idle or the idle time optimizer?quick scan only runs if you start it yourself,check history?sorry I forgot:-I'm back on 2013 product so what I have said is related to that ,2014 may run differently
     
  6. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    I am not talking about the pulse updates. The Live Updates with full definitions updates only happen three times a day.

    http://www.symantec.com/security_response/definitions/multipledaily/
     
  7. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    that's the business products,home products do update more frequently,not talking about pulse updates either,norton doesn't run a "quick scan" after updating, a "quick scan" is instigated by the user from the gui,it does however run a scan in the background,along with a few other tasks,if and when the pc is idle
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2013
  8. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
  9. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    how frequently the updates are available on the server is different from how often by default the product is set to check for updates:-by default nis is set to update every hour(or check every hour)pulse updates are more frequent
     
  10. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    It's set to check for Live updates every hour. They are only released a couple of times per day, at most, though. After each such, a quick scan runs. A quick scan doesn't run after Live Update checks for updates if there is no update to download, only after a succesful update.
     
  11. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    doesn't run a scan on any of pcs it is installed on here after any updates,if any are left for any period though it does start what it says is background tasks,possibly a scan of sorts,but running a quick scan manually removes a few cookies I need for some sites this never happens when it runs automatically so it is either not scanning same areas or possibly not actually running a scan at all,there are modules in nis to do other tasks apart from that,they just call it idle time optimizer,it even sets off defrag if disk is above a certain threshold
     
  12. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    The optimizer is not remotely the same thing.

    The quick scan after a live update kicks in once the system goes into an idle state, forgot to say.
     
  13. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    a quick scan will show in the history,you know:-the little thing in the gui under computer protection if you have the gui set to advanced!,none shows in the list,hence it hasn't run
     
  14. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Then something is amiss on your system. The way it is coded is a quick scan runs when a system enters an idle state after a succesful live update.
     
  15. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    does it show in history on yours? not just one system here,19 in total,all showing same info in history,its actually coded to run when system is idle,not after an update as these pc's are very rarely idle then its prob that that is stopping them initiating a quck scan in the background,our employees are instructed to turn of their PC's when finishing shifts not to leave them permanently on,hence very little down/idle time while turned on
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2013
  16. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    Been running NIS 2014 for something like 2 weeks now on Win 7 64-bit, and it has been simply awesome. Very smooth. Its hard to tell for sure, but things seem even faster than they were before.

    I really like the cloud-based Norton ID-Safe integration, especially they way it works on iOS devices.

    Definitely a keeper.
     
  17. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Norton is definitely the most polished and advanced AV, maybe not protection wise, but features, performance, and usability for sure. The most practical, non bloatware piece of software atm :thumb:
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
    I haven't tried the latest version, but based on the 2012v I'd mostly agree. I've never found "performance monitoring" to be of any value and always turn it off since it adds overhead. I like the UI and I especially like the fact that it both installs and uninstalls very quickly. Unfortunately Norton AV/IS/360 continues to do a poor job with scareware/ransomware in my recent experience. Does the new 2013v do any better?
     
  19. SnowFlakes

    SnowFlakes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    smooth runing, good protection, almost Everything you need !!

    Symantec - Norton
     
  20. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,590
    Location:
    USA
    Based on what I have seen on their forums it probably isn't great with those things, but I have been using it with EMET, MBAM (on demand) and AdblockPlus and have not had an issue with anything getting through in many years. Though I believe there is better protection to be had from other suites, NIS is the only 2014 suite I have used that is not horribly broken in some way, while still keeping up with Firefox updates.
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
    I'd be interested to know which other suites you've tried and found to be "broken". I've tried a couple of other things which have worked pretty well (though I can't say unequivocally that they offer better protection than NIS). Feel free to PM if you feel it's too off topic.
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,590
    Location:
    USA
    PM sent. My only gripe with Norton in recent years is the way it handles false positives (deletes them without asking) but in all fairness, I have seen very little of that in the last 2 years.
     
  23. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just upgraded to Norton A/V 2014...one small issue, I tried too set-up a Scan Schedule for Quick Scans during the week...but when I try to enter Quick Scan in the Schedule box it's greyed out and defaults to Full System Scan...which is already set-up for Saturday's. Any feedback on how you set-up the Scan Schedule? Sincerely...Securon
     
  24. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
  25. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    did you use custom scan option?you can schedule a quick scan via that
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.