The New Norton 2014 Product Line

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by c2d, Sep 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Aint work bro :(
     
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    I just downloaded NIS using this link:

    h**p://buy-download.norton.com/downloads/2014/21.0.1/NISNAV/US/NIS-ESD-21.0.1-EN.exe

    Did you replace the h**p with http ?
     
  3. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161

    It had to be copied in the browser, otherwise it didnt work, thanks guys!
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,564
    Location:
    USA
    I'd have to wonder what went wrong. Running fine for me, day 3, two Windows 8 machines, not a single issue.
     
  5. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    399
    Running fine on my system. Windows 8 Pro x64.
     
  6. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    https://community.norton.com/t5/Nor...nitions-on-off-switch-missing/m-p/983927#M298
     
  7. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    What happens when cloud is cut off/down?
    How is SONAR or Download Insight gonna protect me?
     
  8. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    what if your using PC when not connected to the web and need to scan a pen drive or some other media source?,its relying on everything working with no breakdowns from just your router,network card ,ISP, Norton web service etc:-cloud is ok but too reliant on other things to trust implicitly
     
  9. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    No risk of infection in that case now is there ? :) Seriously though, all products that are even half-effective depend on the cloud. Definitions have become too big to be fully on the client.
     
  10. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    too big?why are you still using a 2gb HD?
     
  11. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    Funny! No. But do you want 1GB, 2 or 3GB of defs loading into memory on boot ? Probably not.
     
  12. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hmm so does Norton load it's entire database into the RAM ? (except the "full definition set") They haven't done that before afaik, but it may have changed :doubt:
     
  13. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    You forgot about USB disks and home networks?
     
  14. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    And what happens when you have any other antivirus and no internet connection, or their update server is down? You have an outdated, limited protection.

    And Sonar only uses internet for avoiding false positives.
     
  15. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Most of other vendors have complete local signature database and behavior blockers/sandboxes or some other 2nd layer of protection.
     
  16. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    You still need internet to download a complete signature database, right?

    Sonar IS a behaviour blocker.

    And by the way, about this other post of yours:

    MalwareDoctor:

    "I had to disable Norton's protection temporarily so I could extract the malware without Norton instantly detecting some of the malware..."

    Errrr......
     
  17. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Oh please! take these immature home grown tests and their unprofessional/inexperienced/immature testers with some salt,they arent real world usage. :rolleyes:
     
  18. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    1) Sonar is also in the cloud, isn't it? ;)
    2) MBAM scan was taken after running malicious URLs and NIS was active then (@10:30 min). NIS scan found nothing (@11:10 min).
    3) Folder with samples is shown at (@12:30 min). He re-enabled the protection (@13:10 min). NIS failed against ransomware (@14:40 min).

    :ninja:
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2013
  19. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    567
    How is this new version working with enhanced protected mode of Internet explorer 10? Does norton depends on browser addons for scanning web content and download insight?
     
  20. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    1) - You simply didn't know what Sonar was about, that's the point: Your opinion here is not well founded. As I said before, Sonar uses the cloud to reduce false positives, not to increase detections.

    2) and 3) - That kid manipulated the normal functioning of the program he was 'testing' to accommodate it to his 'test'. I don't care about folders full of samples and Youtube 'testers', really. Even if you believe everything that he is showing you it's all a complete manipulation.
     
  21. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    Norton wanted a restart of the machine to remediate a threat or threats but he did not restart the machine.

    This must have been due to the folder scan so the detection rate may have been incorrect. (Not to mention whether all the files were really all functioning malware or not.)
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2013
  22. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,225
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    You mean some definitions. SONAR had better be really good when the internet's not there, because not everyone's connected to the Internet while making a scan, and there's always the possibility of USB-drive based malware.
     
  23. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Apart from these immature and non-conceptual tests,in my experience,Norton is excellent and worth the money if you rarely want to get infected in year considering you as risky user :D
     
  24. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    If internet is not there any antivirus you have installed is outdated. What's the difference with not having the cloud? It's exactly the same.

    Norton doesn't store locally definitions of old-non prevalent malware that is easily caught by the behaviour blocker, Sonar. That's the idea behind 'Smart Definitions'. In theory, the system is flawless.

    Like all systems, in theory.
     
  25. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    not really,you could manually run an update then disconnect from the web to perhaps slave an infected HD to your machine to clean it, preferably without web access,full defs would be better than smart in that situation
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.