The Directory Is Not Empty (145)/The file is too large for the destination file system

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Hadron, Dec 5, 2014.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Hi.

    I am trying to Shift-delete a folder containing 3 small files, but I get the message, "The Directory Is Not Empty (145)".
    If I try to simply delete it, I get the message, "The file is too large for the destination file system".

    The problem began when I right clicked on a file with Directory Opus, and Directory Opus hung forcing me to reboot.

    And it appears that it is happening to all files on this drive since DOpus crashed.
    And it seems like my drive is locked. I can't even save an image to the drive.
    Ever since, I have been unable to delete folders and files.

    I have tried running CHKDSK /F, but I got an error message saying something similar to the above error message about the file being too large for the destination file system.

    I tried running chkdsk /f, but I get the following error.
    CMD.jpg

    Can someone please help me?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hadron,

    What is the Total size of the D: drive? How much Free Space is in the D: drive?
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Hi Brian.
    It is a 4TB hard drive.

    4TB.jpg
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    But, when I open up Hard Disk Sentinel, I get this message.
    Hard Disk Sentinel.jpg
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Here is another Hard Disk Sentinel screenshot.
    Hard Disk Sentinel 2.jpg
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Do you have IFW installed in this computer?
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Yes.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK, Run IFW, click Backup (Full), in the next screen (Select the hard.....)
    following HD 0 do you have GPT or MBR (eg HD 0 - MBR)
    following HD 1 do you have GPT or MBR

    click on the partition in HD 1 (to select it)
    click Information
    what is MiB Used, MiB Free, MiB to Restore
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    HD 0 MBR
    HD 1 GPT

    I get this when I click on Information.
    IFW.jpg
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Remove the tick and click on the text, (D: Basic data.....

    There is something wrong with your GUID partition table. The partition is reported at around 4 GB and the Disk is reported at slightly less than 2 GB.
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Here it is.
    IFW 2.jpg
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's only using the first "2 GB".

    This is what I'd do. Copy all the data to another HD. Delete the partitions and zero the "MBR". Create a new GPT disk. Copy the data back after confirming all is OK.

    Do you have BIBM on a CD or UFD?
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    No.

    By the way.
    How do I zero the MBR?
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK. Copy all the data to a new HD and use Diskpart to "clean" the drive. Want any help?
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Do I need to do more than format the drive?
    If so, then yes, I might need some help.
    Can't I just delete the partition in Disk Management?
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Format is not enough.

    After you have copied the data, open a Command Prompt (Admin)
    Type these lines and press Enter

    diskpart
    list disk
    select disk X (X being the number of the 4 TB HD. Probably Disk 1)
    list disk (make sure there is a * next to the 4 TB HD)
    clean (zeroes the first and last MiB on the drive)
    exit
    exit

    Open Disk Management and you will see an empty 4 TB HD. Create a GPT disk with a single partition. Let me know when this is done and run IFW to make sure HD 1 - GPT is 4 TB and not 2 TB as at present.
     
  17. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    OK. Thanks for the help, Brian.

    I am copying data on to a 2TB drive now. Hopefully there is enough space.
    It will probably take a few hours.

    I will let you know how I go.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    While you are there, have a look in Disk Management. In the square to the left of the partition rectangle; the square that says Disk 1, Basic, etc. What is the number preceding GB?
     
  19. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    3725.90 GB.

    So, deleting the partition and re-creating it won't work?
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Weird!
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I doubt it. You need to delete the GUID partition table too.
     
  22. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    After you have run "clean", Disk Management will show the disk as "Not Initialized".
    Right click the disk square
    Initialize Disk
    GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    Right click the Unallocated rectangle
    New Simple Volume
    use full size
    assign the following drive letter
    Format, type a Volume label, Quick Format

    Check the disk with Hard Disk Sentinel and IFW.
     
  24. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Thanks Brian.
    Does Diskpart remove the partition and enable me to start afresh?
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes, after "clean" there are no partitions left. The partition table, disk GUID, etc have been zeroed.
     
Loading...