The avast! Mobile Security thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Rednose!, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    FWIW- the $99/$149 HP Tablets are going on sale again this weekend on HP ebay store, although these will be refurbished. It may be the last time that sale happens.
     
  2. Miyagi

    Miyagi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    424
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Thanks acr1965!
     
  3. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    Not that I plan to do this, but I'm sure it will be asked: can a person install Avast, set up the anti-theft, remove avast leaving anti-theft installed. Will anti-theft continue to operate properly? Or after some time will anti-theft become inoperable?

    What is the procedure for completely removing avast (including anti-theft)? Will there be a tool for this later?
     
  5. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    Yes, that's the whole point. Even if someone removes the parent product (avast! Mobile Security), the anti-theft component stays fully functional.

    When installed in stealth mode (especially on rooted phones), you need to follow a special procedure for that. There will be a step-by-step documentation on how to do that (and you will have to know the PIN to do it, of course).

    Thanks
    Vlk
     
  6. Miyagi

    Miyagi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    424
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Nice work VLK! You guys always think ahead. :)
     
  7. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    Now updated to version 1.0.1069.

    Changelog:
    - Multiple bug fixes (especially various Force Close conditions)
    - Added a new option to hide the notification icon
    - Experimental support for Android 4.x (feedback welcome)
    - Added new "About" screen with version info and a feedback button
    - Other cosmetic changes

    Thanks
    Vlk
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    New beta build released. Use Android Market to update.
     
  9. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
    Does the anti-theft component apply to Wi-Fi only tablets?
     
  10. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    Not for now, as there's no web-based interface atm. This should come in February.
     
  11. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
    Thanks. No problem. I just didn't know whether to install that section or not.

    One more question - is there a guide someplace, a pdf or whatever? It's working great here (v 1.0.1006), but a guide might be useful.
     
  12. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    I used the "check for updates now" button and it said I had the latest update. Under 'current version' in Avast my version shows 111210-01.

    The Market shows latest version -
    UPDATED:
    December 6, 2011
    CURRENT VERSION:
    1.0.1069

    Anyway, assuming I have the latest version, I just tried to report my false positives and still get a "fail" message.
     
  13. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    Are you running version 1069? Do you e.g. have the checkbox for hiding of the notification icon in the Settings?
     
  14. lukash

    lukash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    The "check for updates now" and "current version" at avast! Settings screen show/check only VPS (virus definitions file) of the "avast! Mobile Security BETA"
    You can check you version directly from avast! Click "Application Management", then "avast! Mobile Security BETA", you should see v1.0.1069. Or update from Google Market...
     
  15. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    My version shows 1.0.1006. The automatic updates is check marked and shows from 6 hours ago. When I press the "check for updates now" I get a message that I have the latest update. Under settings I don't see any place to hide notification icons. Anyway, I went to the Market on my phone and downloaded an update anyway. And apparently there was an update available which I noticed after the download. The updated version is 1.0.1069 which I am showing now. So apparently the update checking mechanism of the last version had some sort of bug.

    Also, tried to send the false positives again after updating and again got a failed message.
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,010
    Location:
    USA
    I have the latest update with the option to not display the icon. When you uncheck the option though AMS warns "the notification icon helps Avast protect your device better". I've read that having an icon protects an app from being killed and restarted by the OS. Is that the reason for the warning?
     
  17. clayieee

    clayieee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    260
    I hate the fact that some features requires your phone to be rooted
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,010
    Location:
    USA
    The documentation says root is only necessary for the firewall to work. From my experience with Theft Aware the anti-theft module in Avast should work well without root. It just has greater self-protection with root. These issues are related to the OS and the fact that the carriers lock the phones, not Avast specifically. You may be interested to know that most Android anti-theft software is completely visible and easily uninstalled. That's not the case with Avast (based on Theft Aware).
     
  19. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
    That's right. I extracted these 2 quotes from the release description about when rooted device is needed
    I think the reason for root in the Firewall section is the needed change to application permissions (to deny connections). Permissions can only be done when rooted. I also found that the changes aren't applied until one reboots. May not be 100% true, but it's my experience so far on v 1.0.1006 (not yet updated).
    Let's hope VLK comments on this one.

    Edit: Aha, I just googled out that when permissions are modified on android, a reboot is required. Ouch.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
  20. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
    It could be that the update line on GUI applies to definitions only. And the market icon notifies that the application updates are available. At least that's what I see on the tablet. 1069 is in the list to do.
     
  21. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    I was reading the other thread where Theft Aware was mentioned as top of its class. Avast bought Theft Aware and has integrated it into their Android Mobile AV....sweet!

    How does this work on WiFi only Tablets where SMS isnt in the cards.
     
  22. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
    Post #60 says it doesn't, yet.
     
  23. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Thanks! Missed it. :oops:
     
  24. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    Anyone have a guess about once the final release is out will we need to uninstall the beta or just update? I don't want to set up the anti-theft now if I have to redo it all in a few weeks.
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Android apps work in a different way than any other. They also don't dig themself so deep in the system. So no, you'll be able to update it through Android Market easily.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.