The Antivirus 2008 Trojan

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ForgeMaster, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ForgeMaster

ForgeMaster Registered Member

I am a consultant and handle a LOT of calls every day and I also sell ESET. Is the NOD 32 AV handling the Antivirus 2008 trojan well? Any reports on trouble with that trojan from NOD32 users?

FM

2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

It seems antivirus vendors generally have difficulties dealing with rogue applications . ESET NOD32 and ESET Smart Security should be able to handle most of the variants .

Advise your clients use limited user account (UAC enabled by default in Windows Vista) , be cautios when installing new programs and advise them run second dedicated antispyware application such as the free Microsoft Windows Defender , for example.

http://www.eset.eu/threat-center/security-tips

3. YeOldeStonecat

YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    It stops the complete installation of "many of them"..but there are quite a few that still manage to partially install and somewhat infect a system.

The ZLob variants (the trojan behind Virtumonde and Smitfraud) are being released and updated with new variants several times a day. So AV vendors are having a hard time keeping up.

It is relatively easy to clean out though, with other tools now available.
    CCleaner
    SuperAntispyware
    MalwareBytes
    Spybot Search and Destroy version 1.6 (or newer as this post ages)

We've had no problem cleaning PCs with the above, and no returns.

4. ForgeMaster

When the AntivirusXP2008 trojan came out. Symantec let it through and I was trying to install NOD32. After installing, we ran the scan, but it allowed the AVXP2008 parts to remain undetected. We ran another removal tool, which took out much of it and when we ran NOD32 again, it found all the pieces of the trojan.