The 2.06 Beta 1 version is available.

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Frederic, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TouchuvGrey

    TouchuvGrey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    Gold Coast Queensland Australia
    I just installed 2.06 Beta on my new machine, HP a1730n, Vista Home Premium. LnS asks if i want to let Firefox access the internet, i say yes, everything fine until the next time i open Ff. I get "problem loading page" i cannot connect to anything. Log says:

    Look 'n' Stop Version 2.06 Beta 01

    Driver versions: 5.01 & 4.01
    API Driver versions: 6.01 & 5.01
    [20:48:17] Internet Firewall Enabled
    [20:48:17] Appli Firewall Enabled
    [20:48:17] [20:48:17] Computer connected to Internet on: 192.168.1.104 / fe80::5494:d35a:7ec4:cc3f.
    Security Center registration failed:c0041003

    Any suggestions ?

    Mike :doubt:
     
  2. TouchuvGrey

    TouchuvGrey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    Gold Coast Queensland Australia
    ok, internet filtering is the problem. I disabled application filtering and could not get online. I re enabled it and disabled internet filtering and the problem went away. How can i enable internet filtering and still be able to get online ?


    Mike
     
  3. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Do you have anything in the log page ?

    If it works as soon as you untick the "Internet Filtering Enabled" checkbox, probably a rule is blocking something, and there should be some alerts in the log page.
    If you don't have alerts, you can try to enable the log attribute for any rule that is blocking packets.

    Frederic
     
  4. Enig123

    Enig123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    After upgrade to 2.06 Beta1, I have to mannually select the Network Interface as "WAN Miniport" to let my programs get access to my internet connection. With older version, automatic selection choose the network card as Network Interface instead.

    Is there a explanation about this? I guess it might be related to the newly included protocols. ;)
     
  5. V_8

    V_8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    7
  6. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
  7. V_8

    V_8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Ahn i have to be a reg user to test the full version of this program.


    :mad:
     
  8. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    No, look n stop allows you a 30 day trial of the full version. After that i believe the application filter is disabled.
     
  9. V_8

    V_8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    7
  10. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Enable the advanced mode, in the advanced options dialog box.

    Frederic
     
  11. V_8

    V_8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Thank U :thumb: :)
     
  12. BlueMick

    BlueMick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Frederic - I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond, I've been away. This hasn't happened again since I posted. The incidents happened on different days, so I would have logged off Windows and back on again.

    I don't recall anything similar happening when I upgraded last time around, it's the sort of thing I probably would have queried if it had - I would expect to be asked that kind of thing immediately after an upgrade, but not again thereafter. There seem to have been no ill-effects, however.
     
  13. BuzzStone

    BuzzStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I finally have 2.06b1 working. I am using the drivers that Vista installed
    (6.2.0.126). They will not work on my machine with the latest NVIDIA drivers
    (65.55). Anyone else having problems with the 65.55's.
     
  14. james246

    james246 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Does anyone have any idea when 2.06 comes out of Beta ?
    Also I am interested in know which of the following versions 2.05p2 2.05p3 or current 2.06 is :the most stable and with the least bugs ?
     
  15. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Both 2.05p2 and 3 versions worked great for me on my home Windows XP box. The new beta version is working good so far for me too. The only wrinkle was a driver error message at install but when I started it up the first time Look N Stop fired up and tested out as full stealth at GRC's firewall test site and has worked fine ever since...:eek: :D
     
  16. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi james246,

    We don't know yet when the 2.06 will be officially available.
    There will be a 2.06b2 first.

    Both versions are quite stable. The 2.06b1 is supposed to have less bug than the 2.05p3 since there is a list of fixes in the change log ;)
    At least with the same set of feature of the 2.05p3 this is true. Of course new features (Vista, IPV6...) may have some issues, but this is not included in 2.05p3, so not comparable. However no major issue reported so far with the new features.

    Frederic
     
  17. JAJCO

    JAJCO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Helo.
    I am quite new at this forum and would like to say hello to everyone.
    My problem with L'n'S 2.06 b2 looks like this - with internet filtering eanbled and application filtering enabled everything works great (standard or enhanced ruleset). When i enable ruleset based on phantom's pack - all connections are blocked. I tried to disable application filtering and internet filtering - after disabling internet filtering everything is back to normal (works). How to determine what should i change to get it working?
     
  18. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi JAJCO :)

    So the problem is not related to the new LNS version...
    Check in the log to see what is blocked and why.

    I guess you do not set some parameters into the ( DHCP ?) Phant0m's rules...

    The best is to post a new message and start a new thread about this problem...

    :)
     
  19. JAJCO

    JAJCO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I used Phantom's ruleset 7 so everything should be set ok.
     
  20. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi JAJCO :)

    should be...

    Check in the log.

    :)
     
  21. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    You having changed to Vista and running Look ‘n’ Stop 2.06 means you needed at least v7 [build 7a].

    Vista uses different temp port range so Master TCP Authorize rule would fail to apply.


     
  22. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Phant0m :)

    Absolutly right !

    In the new version of LNS it's possible to replace the local port
    from "In the range" to "In local" ...

    Works for the default value of XP and Vista.

    If the range is not correct the blocked ports will appear in the LNS log...

    This is not a bug, it's a feature ! :D

    ;-)
     
  23. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Climenole,

    Already known about the additional feature, and I haven’t bothered to make use of it just yet while there are still those on previous systems and using still v2.05 versions.



    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
  24. JAJCO

    JAJCO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Problem resolved - i used never version of Phantom ruleset and everything works fine.
     
  25. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi JAJCO :)

    Good news ! Thank you for the feed-back !

    :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.