Testing AV software with one already installed

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ohblu, Aug 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ohblu

    ohblu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have AV software installed on my computer. I would like to switch to another but I'm afraid it may not be compatible with my computer. Could I temporarily disable my current AV software and install and use another one just to see if it will actually work?

    If this is ok to do, is there anything special I need to know first?

    Thanks
     
  2. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    yes you can do that, actually im also doing that installing a new antivirus software before i uninstall my old antivirus, but you need to disable the real time protection of you existing anti virus so it will not interfere with the installation process.
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Actually, it can be rather more complicated than that. The best course is to uninstall any other AV before trying another. The simple fact of the matter is that system stability will head south in a flash with some combinations of products. Mix and match at your own risk.

    Blue
     
  4. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    You could always set up a Virtual PC for all of this...
     
  5. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Paris
    Using VMWare or something similar is a must in testing. Aside from AV incompatibilities, you will be able to handle your malware set with ease.

    Some AV's (with HIPS) may necessitate you to actually activate the malware to see if the sample will be detected/removed/etc. Personally I really wouldn't be partial to doing this in a production environment.
     
  6. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    ohblu,
    I don't know if you wish to set up a VM or not, but as a rule of thumb, it's best to fully uninstall AV software (and rebooting as commanded, and if not reboot anyway) before installing another.
    I've seen certain combinations work OK together. I've seen others totally not work - freezing the machine. The second situation is the more likely in a lot of situations.
    Depends on your knowledge level and how much messing you are prepared to do.
    With Avast, for example, there is a self protection module. You have to disable that in the settings before you can disable the application. I've had Avast and Avira working together in the past, but not what I'd call well.
    If you do this, it's quite likely not a fair test of whatever AV you're about to try out.
    (Just remember to be offline when uninstalling one/installing the other. Then go online for updates.)
    [edit] Some AV's have a removal tool to finish the clean up after the uninstall. Norton, Avast and McAfee ,for example. I'd be inclined to use those tools - if applicable - after uninstalling.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.