TeraByte Product Release Thread

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheKid7, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. Moosehead77

    Moosehead77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    134
    Got it, Thanks.
     
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,594
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite version 3.36 has been released.
    Webpage - Downloads - TeraByte Unlimited User Community Forums

    Image for Windows 3.36 - Downloads - Upgrade History
    Image for DOS version 3.36 - Downloads - Upgrade History
    Image for Linux version 3.36 - Downloads - Upgrade History
    OSD Tool Suite version 1.96 - Downloads - Upgrade History
     
  3. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,594
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    A new version of the TeraByte BootIt Collection has been released:

    BootIt Bare Metal version 1.63 - Downloads - Upgrade History
    BootIt UEFI version 1.15 - Downloads - Upgrade History
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,774
    Has the installer changed recently?
    One of my computers has the second screen where it offers to install a quick launch and various wizards, and the other one doesn't.
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,391
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Changes coming quick and fast! o_O

    But a good thing :thumb:.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I didn't see any difference from previous installs.
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,774
    Additional Tasks are missing on one of my computers.

    TeraByte IFW Additional Tasks Setup 01.png TeraByte IFW Additional Tasks Setup 02.png

    I have re-run the installer to be sure.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    This is my first window...

    3.png 4.png
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    My next window...

    1.png 2.png
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,774
    I don't get the next window even on custom installation. Something's wrong.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Try using Enter to run through the menus instead of using a mouse.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,774
    I thought there may be an INI file or Registry entry that's making it skip the Additional Tasks screen.
    I've been looking, but haven't found anything yet.
     
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,391
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I do get it, but only if I select Custom (else it just takes defaults / previous options I guess).
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,774
    Yes, I know. I use Custom, but it doesn't display Additional Tasks on my other computer.
     
  15. Moosehead77

    Moosehead77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    134
    Hi Brian.

    I did the update and the program tried to run a Diff but it failed. When I saw this I ran the Diff manually by clicking on the CMD file we made and it worked. One thing I noticed was that my Defrag program was running at the time. Maybe this could have effected the backup. This is the error I received in the program Log.

    [12/23/2019 05:00:01 AM] C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\imagew64.exe /wait /b /uy /um /base:F:\Backup-w0-2019-12-16-1107 /f:F:\Backup-w0-chg-$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$diff /v /vb

    [12/23/2019 05:00:01 AM] Cannot open "F:\Backup-w0-2019-12-16-1107.TBI".

    [12/23/2019 05:00:01 AM] Program exiting with error code 6

    Would appreciate if you could help me out on this. Thank You.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2019
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Moosehead77,

    Check you don't have 2 competing scripts. The above script isn't the one we made. It references...

    Backup-w0-2019-12-16-1107.TBI

    Our file was...

    Entire_2019-12-17-1217__FULL.TBI

    We didn't have /um in our script.

    Regarding defragging. It's OK to defrag before a full backup but if you defrag before diff backups you can end up with large diffs as moving sectors around means "changes".
     
  17. Moosehead77

    Moosehead77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    134
    Ok makes sense. I have a syncro program running that copies the file to another folder as a backup. I will delete it from there. Thanks.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's not the script we made. It is a script you made from IFW.
     
  19. Moosehead77

    Moosehead77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    134
    Got it. What I did was delete all of it and made the CMD file over again. I ran it, it's running the backup. Once done I will reschedule it again in task scheduler.
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Is it that script?

    In Task Scheduler do you have a task called "Image for Windows - Task 1" ?
     
  21. Moosehead77

    Moosehead77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    134
    I don't see it so I hopefully got rid of it. I basically started over. I haven't scheduled it yet because I want to make sure that the current backup I am doing goes through ok. Then I will reschedule it like we did the first time. The CMD is already created with the same parameters you had me set them to last time. I will run the scheduling off this new CMD.
     
  22. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,594
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite version 3.37 has been released.
    Webpage - Downloads - TeraByte Unlimited User Community Forums

    Image for Windows 3.37 - Downloads - Upgrade History
    Image for DOS version 3.37 - Downloads - Upgrade History
    Image for Linux version 3.37 - Downloads - Upgrade History
    OSD Tool Suite version 1.97 - Downloads - Upgrade History
     
  23. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,594
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    A new version of the TeraByte BootIt Collection has been released:

    BootIt Bare Metal version 1.64 - Downloads - Upgrade History
    BootIt UEFI version 1.16 - Downloads - Upgrade History
     
  24. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    @Brian K
    Brian do you know if TB's partition manager is capable to format a Disk as MBR with 4tb (or larger) when the disk supports advanced format?
    A few days ago bought my first 4tb usb drive and was surprised to see that was formated as an mbr disk and not gpt.
     
  25. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I would think that an AFT formatted drive (sector 8x as big as the ol' 512b) could easily use MBR to point to a real 4TB size. The old 2tB MBR disk limit was based on 512byte sectors. With an 8x difference, pointers should be able to point to 16tB of real DATA.

    I don't know any of this for fact (have seen discussions on such)... but it makes sense. The pointer limits under MBR drives should easily be able to point to that many AFT formatted sectors and get to lots of DATA.

    Did that drive formatting allow you access to the full 4tB? The decision about sector size is made after DISCOVERY is run on the device by the OS. Based on that, it sets it "block" size up accordingly. But the MBR is not a size limiting format for the blocked disk, it's only used to restrict the amount of blocks in use on any given disc, not the size of the blocks. There's nothing in either spec (MBR or GPT) that references disk block sizes, that determination must be made by the OS. We know that early physical 4k blocked devices are divided up into 512byte blocks in their frimware initially (OS Disk Discovery shows 512b sectors) to make them legacy compatible to older Systems. But we also know they can be presented as 4k blocked storage devices only of which the OS must make the appropriate changes to accommodate that fact... this is where AFT compatibility comes into play by the OS and possibly some apps as well.

    If I had a "real" (not 512e) AFT formatted disk I'd be happy to check it out for you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.