TeraByte Product Release Thread

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheKid7, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Some tips for those contemplating using metadata backups/restores. Use these Options...

    To create a full image select...
    Create Sector Hash File
    Use Metadata Hash Files

    To create a differential image select...
    Use Metadata Hash Files

    To create an incremental image select...
    Create Sector Hash File
    Use Metadata Hash Files

    To restore an image select...
    Metadata Based Restore

    If your SSD supports DRAT you can also select this for the restore (it won't be in the Options list if DRAT isn't supported)...
    Write Changed Sectors Only
     
  3. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,933
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thank you. These options already tested by you spare me a lot of efforts and time. :thumb:
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Okay, I have two questions re 3.07

    1. The new licensing model. When I bought I purchase for two machines and my license says My Name (2) for two installs. Does that mean I now have 10 installs.

    2 Incremental chains. With Macrium I restore chains of 60 in length. What is the maximum recommended for IFW
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Pete,

    1. Yes, if for personal non-commercial use only.
    2. I've no idea.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Thanks Brian. I guess one way to find out.
     
  7. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    Hi Pete, consider that the archives/images are a type of database files. The limit of maximum files is related with the max physical memory that can be used to load the virtual file tables, the checksums, etc. So there is no definitive answer since it depends from the OS 32bit or 64bit, the number and size of the file tables and checksums that also depend from the size of the partition and for the metadata also depends from the number of sectors,files and directories that get indexed/tracked.
    As an example, lets take a partition of 1 tb formated in ntfs. It will have (in normal circumstances/usage) a file table of approximately 100mb. So 60 incrementals depending on the modifications in the sectors/files/directories (would need in an extreme scenario) a maximum of 60x100mb = 6gb of ram, if loaded uncompressed in memory.
    The above is a very generic example; for finding the size of the mft of the partition you want to backup use NTFSInfo of sysinternals http://download.sysinternals.com/files/NTFSInfo.zip and then according to the amount of the system's ram, you can calculate the number of incrementals that you can use.

    For IFD the hard limit should be 512 incrementals http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/ucf/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1911&p=9867&hilit=limit#p9866.

    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,880
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite - Image for Windows version 3.08 has been released.
    Webpage
    Downloads
    Upgrade History
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,880
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    BootIt Bare Metal version 1.38 has been released.
    Webpage
    Downloads
    Upgrade History
     
  10. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,736
    Thanks dragon. Updated.
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,880
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
  12. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,880
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite - Image for Windows version 3.09 has been released.
    Webpage
    Downloads
    Upgrade History
     
  13. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,880
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    BootIt Bare Metal version 1.39 has been released.
    Webpage
    Downloads
    Upgrade History
     
  14. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,933
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thank you. Now I wonder how can this benefit in some way.
     
  15. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,880
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Mister X,

    You are most welcome ;) ...
    I was wondering the same thing...
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It lets you boot into TBWinRE without using boot media or having a TBWinRE partition. You could do auto backups or restores if you ran a script. A simple line would be (tbwinre folder copied from C: drive to D: drive)...

    D:\TBWinRE_files\tbwinre\tbwinpe.exe /bootwim D:\TBWinRE_files\tbwinre\ISO\sources\boot.wim
     
  17. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,880
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Brian K,

    Thanks for the reply :thumb: !
     
  18. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,933
    Location:
    Mexico
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Hi Brian

    Does this allow you to add the tbwinre to the windows boot menu?

    Pete
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Pete, yes it can be added to the Windows boot menu.
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Geesh. I can have it done in Macrium in the time it took to read that. They need to hire Panagiotis.
     
  24. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    883
    rofl. couldn't have put it better.
     
  25. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    This seems like the bootfile.exe for mbr based disks
    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/howto-ifl-bootfile.htm
    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/howto-ifd-bootfile.htm
    I did not have time to play with it (only did 1-2 reboots) but seems to work similarly.
    - It creates a copy/backup of the BCD file and replaces it with the wim entry (or instructs to load it's bcd instead of the original) and reboots the system.
    - During the boot it loads the wim and restores the original bcd file. (on the next startup/reboot bcd will be in it's original state)
    - Runs a script (I tried to use it running an IFW command instead of a script, but did not work...)
    I suspect/hope that in the next updates terabyte will finally introduce a boot to restore feature on the final step of the restore.

    Panagiotis
     
Loading...