Terabyte/IFW

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Longboard, May 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Is there a way to "collapse" differentials to a single image on a schedule ?
    Is there a way to delete earlier full backups as new images created.
    Is there a way to overwrite current image with new image?
    Can IFW now write and retrieve/backup images from network drives?

    I like the shadow protect image management tools, and use IFW prn, but I'm wanting to rationalise strategies.

    regards.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Longboard,

    Yes to your first three questions.

    Re network drives, IFW and IFL have always been able to do that.

    State of Origin is just about to start.
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Now that NSW supremacy is restored: brutal game eh.
    CAn you expand a bit on the "Yes to your first three questions." ?

    As to network drives I may have lost a connection somewhere: meaning I cant recall where that is or my older version of IFW doesnot pick up the network drives.

    ANd, been so long since I looked through this: in event of borked drive what is the best boot disc to get to restoreable images on network drive.

    ( I'll be doing some extra reading...just got new HW, with for the first time in ages...NO FLOPPY ... eek. I think thats where I had the issue with network drives: my older BootIT floppy could not get to network drives...??)

    Have to do some catchups.

    PS. Doc: off to RLZ for some surf and fishing in August, Heliski in Jan: been saving up :).
    http://resortlatitudezero.com/
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2014
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    Since the subject is general, do you guys mind if I jump in with another question.

    Pete
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Pete, fire away.

    Longboard, apart from tests, I'm not keen on doing your first three methods.

    See "Combine" in the IFW useguide. I never "Combine". If a differential is greater than 10% of the full image size, I create another full image. That might not happen for a month.

    See "Purge" in the IFW useguide. Or your own batch file. I just do it manually.

    Just overwrite. Or do you mean something else?

    In IFW Settings, do you have "Show Entire Network" selected?

    Re RLZ, be careful which boat you catch as Manus Island isn't your return destination.


    Edit...
    TBWinRE or IFL.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2014
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'll be careful.... Not a good look there atm. :blink:

    ta for advices: time to get up close to Terabyte again. 'Specially the auto options.
    Ive not bothered for a while: my setup has been so functional for so long.

    Moving to W7 ( heh: luddite here) with shiny new HW
    have to wipe all the older boxes: hard to get rid of older HW.

    Any opinion re UEFI or GPT: I'm not really sure of any speciifc advantages for me.

    regards

    Pete ??
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    Thanks guys. Courtesy of Brian I got my answers.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Longboard,

    Why Win7 instead of Win8? Just curious.

    Re UEFI...

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/dn640535(v=vs.85).aspx

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unified_Extensible_Firmware_Interface

    Which method should be used to install your OS, UEFI or MBR (Legacy BIOS)? I recall you like multi-booting with various Linux distros. Then use a MBR install. I have two almost identical computers with Win8. One has the OS installed in UEFI mode and the other in MBR mode. The UEFI mode OS boots 10 seconds faster than the MBR mode OS. Otherwise the MBR mode computer is much more functional (for me) regarding multi-booting and using bootable CDs/UFDs.

    You don't need UEFI to use large GPT disks, except for the boot disk. But I don't see people wanting to boot an OS on a 3 TB HD when they can boot an OS much faster and have it run much faster on a 240 GB SSD. SSDs are the best upgrade one can make with a computer.

    You don't need UEFI if you want up to 128 primary partitions on a drive. You can have 200 primary partitions on a drive with BIBM.

    You do need UEFI to have Secure Boot. But Win7 doesn't support Secure Boot.
     
  9. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    For the moment:
    Business oriented boxes: LenovoSFF's: http://shopap.lenovo.com/au/en/desktops/thinkcentre/sff/
    Have been v sturdy in the past ( no HW issues after 5 yrs) easy to upgrade/swap devices and for service/guarantee backup.
    Got good discount as, LOL, valued customer.
    Easier GUI: dont like "mobile phone/tablet" interface
    No real need for touch/AIO: as you know some of the latest and obviously better AIO not readily available in Oz.
    Still an option to go to W8 on OEM "downgrade" install of W7Pro 64

    Re GPT and UEFI and HDD: I'm pretty much in line with you: dont really need it... interferes with some of my software options, ... and , I 'm also confused as to why so many systems are now offering these MASSIVE platter drives !!

    SSD drives looking good but Ive had to go hybrid secondary to cost/size issues to accommodate FDISR options ( still part of my backbone)
    I dont need b-l-a-z-i-n-g speeds as such: I can cope with the odd 10-20 secs here and there.

    HW: 4 desk setups, laptop x2, Ipad, Wired and wireless router, Wired Netgear ReadyNAS, Kindles, IPods...
    Critical softs: FDISR, Terabyte tools, Shadowprotect, VMWare ( overkill ?? ;) )
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I didn't like the Metro start menu at first but now I prefer it to the Win7 start menu. It is so easy to customize and faster to use (for me) than the old start menu.

    I haven't used Hybrid drives but I've seen some nasty threads about the difficulty of restoring images to a new drive after the primary drive dies. I can't recall the brand.
     
  11. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    :eek:
    The config is using the SSD as cache: should not be a problem ??
    Ive searched terabyte forums: cant see any references there ??
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Either Cruise or The Shadow had a problem in this forum and I recall a similar thread in the Ghost forum.

    Maybe Cruise or The Shadow can comment.
     
  13. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    From Terabyte support:
    I'll let you know
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.