Teamviewer free license has changed

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Victek, Aug 30, 2019.

  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,940
    Location:
    USA
    I recently reinstalled Teamviewer after not using it for a few months and discovered that the free license no longer works. The program was disabled at startup with a message saying something like "we think Teamviewer is being used for commercial purposes". They are still offering the free license, but it's not clear how the software can be used. I'd be interested to hear if anyone knows what is going on with Teamviewer. I'd also appreciate a recommendation for a free alternative if there is one. Thanks!
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    38,899
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
  4. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    881
  5. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    460
    Location:
    Dubai
    I use TeamViewer portable since years and I never got such a message.
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,940
    Location:
    USA
    Any idea why the portable version would be less likely to receive the message?
     
  7. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    460
    Location:
    Dubai
    Not really man. The reason I use the portable version is because the installable version's services keep running in the background and they suck CPU cycles. I noticed that when my benchmark scores went down so I stopped using it since then and only use the portable version. Works perfectly so I suggest you uninstall the full version and try the portable one.
     
  8. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,343
    @Victek I think you will receive the message if you are connecting to a number of different computers. I've received it before and it won't make any difference if you are using the portable version. You will find guides online, on how to remove the message, but it involves changing your MAC address, it's not an easy fix.

    You may want to consider using an alternative, such as AnyDesk.
    https://anydesk.com/en
     
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,940
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the details. I'll just let it go for now.

    I'll give AnyDesk a try; thanks for the link :thumb:
     
  10. Beyonder

    Beyonder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    490
    I also keep receiving this. I only ever connect to 1 computer and I'm currently open for alternatives to replace TeamViewer with.
     
  11. tjaTech

    tjaTech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    USA
    I like Teamviewer, however its commercial limitations are frustrating --though understandable. I am always on the lookout for a better alternative --and particularly something as good that has less limitations.

    Is there anywhere on this forum where folks are doing comparisons between remote access applications? I have not done a formal (active: speed, use, features) comparison but have created a basic spreadsheet of various options including a few free ones.
     
  12. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,130
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    AnyDesk is a more than adequate replacement if you're just looking for remote access and file transfer. With the FREE version you'll have to maintain your own address book.

    I had this happen with TeamViewer over a year ago and blew it away for AnyDesk at that time... it works just fine for me.
     
  13. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  14. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,700
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    MadMACs: MAC Address Spoofing and
    Host Name Randomizing App for Windows 7
    (Should work in Windows Vista and Windows 8 too)

    from Irongeek
    https://www.irongeek.com/i.php?page=security/madmacs-mac-spoofer


    I find it excellent ymmv.
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,940
    Location:
    USA
    My first impression of AnyDesk is that it will be just fine for my purposes. :thumb:
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.