TDS Resource Usage?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Samjax, May 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Samjax

    Samjax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    I used the trial version of TDS well over a year ago...I went with BOClean at the time, but now BOClean is having some bothersome CPU usage spikes that I thought were gone...but apparently are not.

    In any event, I cannot use TDS in a trial again (I tried but it won't let me), so I have tried out Ewido and A Squared. Ewido uses even more CPU than BOClean does (it seems to cycle every few seconds) although it does have both the on demand and resident scanning that seems to be useful. A2 has both on demand and resident and appears not to use very many resources at all. A2 also makes some claims as to it acting as a "Process Guard" type program as well.

    Finally to my question...in regards to memory use/CPU use, how does TDS3 compare to the above mentioned programs (with the resident memory function enabled). In addition, will it conflict with my following setup?

    XP Home SP2
    AMD 1800
    512 RAM
    Sygate Personal Firewall
    Ad-Aware SE Plus (licensed)
    Kaspersky Personal Pro 5 (very close to buying this one)

    By the way, I'm not a PC guru of any sort...so ease of use would be an added bonus :) Thanks for the help.
     
  2. quexx88

    quexx88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Radnor, Pennsylvania
    Although I have not seen any excessive CPU usage, TDS-3 is pretty heavy on RAM. It usually hovers around 30mb, but in my case, can swell to around 60-70mb. However, with execution protection disabled, it normally stays under 10mb.
     
  3. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    All depends on.
    TDS at this moment on my XP is at 2.300KB of RAM with exec protect up.
    Of course during a full system scan it is adviced to close all unnecessary processes and resident protection to give TDS all room to speed up the scanning process. Most people do that when they're away from their system for some time and see the results afterwards.
    Exec protection is but a hook and not a resources taking process.
    TDS is not the lightest but a very good choice. To have the exec protection functioning TDS must be started.
    TDS-4 will be as light in resources as possible. Specifications of the program are not made public yet.
    Users who bought TDS-3 will be upgraded for free once TDS-4 is there.

    Formerly BOClean used to be very light in resources, sorry to hear it is no longer so.
    KAV has always been known for being heavy, not sure about the latest versions. Did you look at NOD32 too?

    You could email support at diamondcs com au about your concerns.

    You don't have Ad-aware permanently on, do you? Not sure how much that takes in resources.
    TDS- with exec protection blocks all malware executables and has very good spy/adware detection too.
    Did you install the various JavaCool tools to protect your browsers among others?
     
  4. peterc

    peterc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Australia
    I find that TDS-3exe is heavy on resources as I write this I have just opened task manager Mem is 24.632 and VM is 34.268 that is what it always has been since I bought it last year, actually I just don't use it while on the net, I only use it for on demand scan, and I shut down Nod 32, PG, WG and RD before I scan my PC with it.

    I hope that TDS 4 will be as light on resources as Jooske says.

    My PC is a few years old now AMD1.333 with 512 DDR Ram, XP Home SP2, CHX-I Packet filter, Nod 32, etc

    peterc
     
  5. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    Hi , i am a licensed user of most of the prgrams you have mentioned.
    TDS-3 is a very good anti-trojan!

    But if you look at the performance, there is no other product you can run on your computer, that has a greater performance impact.
    It completely pauses all other programs.
    So yes, it is best to run it when you are not behind your computer.

    And about TDS-4 , i don't think it is fair to talk about how this will perform,
    because there is still no such version, although users are waiting here for YEARS for this.
    There is STILL no Beta version, which we can test, and the last expected release date was before January 1th 2005, it is 5 months later now, never heard news about TDS-4 this year.
    Only ' it is ready when it is released' or something like that.

    So i am a very happy TDS-3 user, but i don't advise you to buy TDS-3 because there is a version TDS-4 in the NEAR future.
    Just buy TDS-3 because it is a good product.

    And to my personal experience as a KAV 4.5 and TDS-3 user,
    KAV never missed a trojan here that TDS-3 found.

    success,
     
  6. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi,

    I have all of the products you mentioned. TDS-3 is pretty heavy on resources in comparison to the others and Exec Prot is more likely to conflict. Ditto for TrojanGuard. I do see the same spikes that you see for BOClean and Ewido, but they do not interfere with my regular operations. If I have only one running, e.g. Ewido, and I am doing a resource intensive operation (e.g., KAV scan of my file system), then I will temporarily shutdown Ewido's realtime protection.

    Rich
     
  7. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Exec Protection to conflict with what? Never seen that in all those years.
    TrojanGuard? Where can i see that, never heard of that one. So i can't tell about resources and i'm not expecting conflicts as i've never seen TDS conflicting with any software all those years.

    We all advice to shut down other scanners and resident protection to give TDS full access for scanning all files.
    We also advice to close as many unnecessary applications during that to speed up the scanning process so it's good to do do it when you're away from the system and it's not needed every day. Exec protec will stop malware to execute, the scan will tell you if there is malwaer on your system.

    It's always a good idea to think of layered protection: TDS with KAV or NOD32 would be fine, ProcessGuard as a fine prevention in the first place and protection further on with that would be better, not to forget Port Explorer to add to trojan detection, and of course the several spyware scanners.
     
  8. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    I currently have conflicts between my system and TDS-3 Exec Prot, TDS-3 Update, TrojanGuard, and BOClean and my current system which is:

    1) Windows SP2 with latest updates
    2) Ewido Licensed
    3) ProcessGuard licensed
    4) RegDefednd
    5) UnHackMe
    6) ZoneAlarm Pro

    For this reason, I only run TDS-3 sporatically when I feel that I need to do a full trojan scan of my system. Ditto for TrojanHunter. I run BOClean in the morning for a scan and then shut it down because of resource usage and it will hang my system when I try to restart it.

    Rich
     
  9. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Hiya, Rich!

    No such "conflicts" here running TDS's exec protection - and I have the first five of the six programs you mentioned running on here, too (while TDS's exec protection is running, of course).

    Exactly what kind of "conflict" are you having? Pete
     
  10. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Me neither. :D

    I think he's referring to the TrojanHunter Guard, Jooske. (Which also plays quite well with TDS's exe protection when I run them simultaneously here - see screenshot).
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I never had any issues with exec.protection but I sure feel the slowdowns on my machine...and I sure hope this is getting solved with version 4 :)
     
  12. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Hi, Opt!

    Well sir, I don't game, run spreadsheets (or do anything that even approaches being work ( :eek: ) ) on this machine - and I'm sure not experiencing "slowdowns" of anything that I can see.

    And this is on a computer that's already relatively "long-in-the-tooth", processor-wise.

    Also, I just got through having a very amusing conversation with someone that had probed me on port 31337 via TDS's "TCP connect to target host" feature - can whatever you're using A/T-wise do that ? (Why don't people who live in the Bahama's have better things to do - I would! lol!). Pete
     
  13. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    lol, hi Pete :)

    as far as the processor goes: it's a prescott 550 and I used RegRun for a while to let it autostart a little slower then the rest...I only use it for on demand cause I prefer others for on access.

    Those features/tools are very nice and they still do what they are made for ;) I hope they'll remain in our upgrade package, probably they will :D
    Take care

    Andy
     
  14. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi Pete,

    Conflicts most often occur during startup or shutdown. Something usually will hang or not work properly. Things are even worse now with TDS-3, since it shuts down its update after about 800K of download. I may try to re-load it to see if I can get past the update problem. It is not a big deal, since I rarely have to scan with TDS-3 nowadays, but I may try getting it to work since everything else is so calm nowadays. ;)

    Rich
     
  15. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi guys,

    I decided to fool around with the TDS-3 update issue a bit and discovered there was some issue caused by ProcessGuard (go figure). I have Secure Message Handling enabled. That could be the problem. If I have time, I will try to track down the exact cause.

    The problems (hangs) have been around forever, and I don't have any real incentive to try to figure out where the problems lie - especially since TDS-4 is going to be released any day now. :D

    Rich
     
  16. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Rich - If it's a "start-up" problem (ergo: you have/had TDS-3 starting at every computer start-up) you might want to try the excellent advice given by Pilli here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=450150&postcount=2

    Myself, I don't even do that - I simply start TDS manually after everything else has started (assuming TDS is one of my two "flavors-of-the-day" that day).

    If you're having problems with updates, make sure you have the latest update.cfg installed (see Pilli's post: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=441973&postcount=3 ) .

    The "ProcessGuard issue" happens to me, too - every time the DB gets updated - or you run a scan after having updated the DB, you get a query from PG asking if you'll allow it:

    "Thu 05 - 20:36:04 [EXECUTION] "c:\program files\tds3\dcsmutex.exe" was allowed to run
    [EXECUTION] Started by "c:\program files\tds3\tds-3.exe" [2628]
    [EXECUTION] Commandline - [ "c:\program files\tds3\dcsmutex.exe" diamond computer systems pty. ltd.
    ]

    There's a way around that, I think, but I really haven't bothered to find out what it is - I simply "Allow" it each time in PG because "Allow"ing always" doesn't work because it's a "new" dcsmutex.exe each time.

    lol! Be nice , Rich - I haven't seen the next version of EWIDO yet, either! <g> Pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.