TDS-3 CRC FILES

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Eliot, Aug 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Is it possible to add a whole directory (ie. c:\folder\*.*) to the CRC check?
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hm never tried, maybe as C:\directory with or without the *.* Would try both ways and see what happens.
    You could make a folder with some files, add it in thjat way and make some changes in some individual files in the folder (directory in fact) and see if there are alarms and if so which.
    Question is of course if you put a whole folder or directory in CRC if you would know which files were changed if you would not put all individual files under control too! I would like to know if files disappeared or were added and if files themselves were changed somehow and which.

    Sorry for not being able yet to give a concrete answer this moment before trying it out! Not seeing it in the Helpfile either.
     
  3. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    otherwise try from the commandline (replacing the paths in question):
    Code:
    dir c:\*.* >> c:\tdsdir\config\crcfiles.txt
    
    HTHH,
    Andreas
     
  4. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    I never tried it that way.
    But it can be done with the help of PowerDesk Pro from V-COM (formerly Ontrack).
    Using PowerDesk:
    open PowerDesk;
    go to that directory;
    click in PowerDesk: Edit > Select All (to select all the files in that directory);
    click in PowerDesk: Edit > copy path as text;
    then paste them into your crcfiles.txt
     
  5. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    ...right! i forgot: dir c:\*.* won't give pathnames, so what i posted above will not work - unless there's a commandline switch for dir that makes it deliver full pathnames. don't know if there is one...

    sorry.
    Andreas
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    ... which will require some scripting like in this example
    (calling the API function residing in the kernel32.dll

    GETFULLPATHNAME (string filename, numeric buflen, string buffer, numeric filepart)

    lv_filename = "test.html"
    ; note that lv_FullPath must be pre-initialised with spaces
    lv_FullPath = " "
    activate "winapi".getfullpathname(lv_filename, 128, lv_FullPath, 0)
    (lv_fullpath now contains "F:\UNIFACE\7206\sample\test.html")

    it will need some extra feeding for filenames etc in a nice script, adding the results to a list which can be copied to wherever we want.
    More nice examples here
     
  7. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    Hi all,
    it does work after all:
    see here:
    Code:
    C:\>dir c:\programme\apps\grafik\PSP\*.exe /B /S
    c:\programme\apps\grafik\PSP\anim.exe
    c:\programme\apps\grafik\PSP\junreg.exe
    c:\programme\apps\grafik\PSP\psp.exe
    c:\programme\apps\grafik\PSP\Register.exe
    c:\programme\apps\grafik\PSP\tubeconverter.exe
    
    maybe it's important that you're in the root directory before you enter the command. The "/S" switch makes it recurse into subdirectories and thereby specifying what directory it's currently in - even if there's no subdir. If you have subdirectories you want not to include maybe that's a problem. If you want to match everything (*.*), you can exclude directory names with "/A:-D"...

    Here's the command again:

    Code:
    dir c:\programme\apps\grafik\PSP\*.* /A:-D /B /S >> c:\apps\tds\config\crcfiles.txt
    
    hope it works for you.

    Cheers,
    Andreas
     
  8. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    BIG karma cookie for you Andreas ;)
     
  9. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    thanks, Jan
    maybe it depends on the DOS/cmd.exe version used, but it works on my win2k pro comp.
    If it doesn't on some other system, maybe we can build a workaround...

    Cheers,
    Andreas
     
  10. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Awesome work!!! Many thanks to you :D ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.