Task new full after x incremental : no joy

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dclkdm, Jun 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dclkdm

    dclkdm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    I have build 9645 (according to Acronis site, the latest build availbale for dutch language would be build 9707, but on my registerd products page their is NO download available, of any build).

    I have tried to make a task (incrementals) like: after x incrementals, make a new full + delete old archives.

    The tasks run well untill the next full. The next full is made OK and the old full+incrementals are deleted OK. The next day would be a new incremental, but here the errors come in: can't find back up archive.

    I suppose ATI is still looking for the "old" full to make its incremental (which of course has been deleted).

    Is there anybody out there who has this working OK?
     
  2. dclkdm

    dclkdm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Nobody able to help?
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dclkdm,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009

    Please update Acronis scheduler using the following article it should solve the issue. If the issue persists please provide us the log file with the error message.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  4. dclkdm

    dclkdm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Thank you, Dmitry.
    Unfortunately, this did not solve the issue, it changed it a bit: while a was getting the errors when the first incremental after the next full back up was made, I now get the error when the next full is made!

    I'll attach the log with error message.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. dclkdm

    dclkdm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    I decided to give up on this (Acronis doesn't respond) and go to the routine: incremental> after zero incremantals another full back up (which gives only fulls) and as advised by Acronis, set the consolidation to three (full). Acording to Acronis it wouldn't consolidate because there are only fulls, but just delete the eldest... hmph.

    This doesn't work either! I now have several fulls and none deleted. Is this programme actually working or what (yes manually it's doing fine, but now that I have a second back up drive in my computer, I want to use the automatic stuff as promised by Acronis.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It hasn't really worked reliably since the dreaded ATI 11 was released.
    ATI11 wasn't ever fixed and ATI12 has an entirely diff system for autmated backup -- in fact, doing automated backup of only fulls with ATI 12/2009 was something that a user had to point out to Acronis -- Acronis thought it could only do incs. So it's no surprise that it's not working reliably.


    ATI10 was the last solid version that had decent automated backup management, which was ATI's big real selling point over the competition. If you can't get Acronis to get the program to work as promoted, you have lots of other choices, most if not all with free trials.

    But just to be sure that Support gave you the right process, here's the text fro Vlad's original post describing how to do automated Full-only backups:

    #4 Today, 02:34 AM
    Vlad V
    Infrequent Poster Join Date: Dec 2008
    Posts: 1

    Re: X full backups, then delete oldest

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The latest build of ATIH 2009 (9646) allows you to get what you want, though the solution is not obvious. Here's how:
    1) At the "Backup method" step choose either "Incremental" or "Differential" method, select the "Create a new full backup after" checkbox and set "0" (zero) in the number of backups field. This will result in creating only full backups, but, in addition, will enable the "Automatic consolidation" step (disabled for the "Full" backup method), which will be needed for ensuring automatic deletion of the oldest backup.
    2) At the "Automatic consolidation" step select the "Number of backups exceeds" checkbox and set a limit of 4 backups.
    The program will create 4 full backups, then on the 5th run it will create a fifth backup thus exceeding the limit set on the number of backups. ATIH can't consolidate full backups, so it will simply delete the oldest one. This procedure will be repeated during the next task run, etc.
    P.S. You must have space for at least 5 fulls. If there is not enough room for the 5th backup, the task run will be aborted, and the program will neither create a new backup, nor delete the oldest one.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2009
  7. dclkdm

    dclkdm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Thank you shieber. But this is exactly the way I tried it.
    With the exception that I set a limit to 3 back ups. But that shouldn't matter?

    It endlessly goes on making new full back ups, but deletes none :mad:

    What a mess: none of the features advertised work, except the (rather good) create and restore by "hand".
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dclkdm,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please see the article Using Batch Files in Acronis True Image. You can use, for example, the Batch file for managing backup sets saved locally.

    This batch file will allow you to have two sets of backup files (i.e. two chains that consist of full + incremental backup files) simultaneously. You should set the amount of backup sets you want to keep to 2.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  9. neilsp

    neilsp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Although I have not yet tried it, the batch file recommended by Acronis Support arrears to have the exact functionality that I'm after. The only thing I'm left wondering is whether or not this will end up interfering with the True Image 2009 internal database of backups (since this method works by deleting the old backup files outside of TI).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.