Systernals Autologon

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by acr1965, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  2. Ice_Czar

    Ice_Czar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Posts:
    696
    Location:
    Boulder Colorado
    Ive got a very high opinion of all Mark Russinovich's work
    but I havent used that particular ap, hell my dogs would be downloading puppy p0rn in no time. :D
     
  3. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    doesnt that defect the object of having the password?
    because it just logs you in since you told it your password and told it to autologon.
    its like getting a really secure high tech door and having all the passwords on a piece of paper attached to the door.
    or just having a front door and leaving the keys in.
    lodore
     
  5. vinn

    vinn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    110
    I use sysinternals autologon. When you bootup your logon screen appears momentarily and then dissappears and you are logged on automatically. Make sure you keep a record of (remember) how to restore the normal logon feature. Note that if someone else turns on your machine they will also be logged on automatically.
     
  6. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    I've never bothered with a password on my home computer.

    regards,

    -rich

    ________________________________________________________________
    "Talking About Security Can Lead To Anxiety, Panic, And Dread...
    Or Cool Assessments, Common Sense And Practical Planning..."
    --Bruce Schneier​
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    same lol.
    i know the people who use it so its fine.
    if i had a laptop i would use a password because i would use it out of the house.
    lodore
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.