System Tray notification area

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by vs1293, Aug 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    As of late, when booting up, there appears to be a long delay loading the system tray notifications.
    There are only two items there. The McAfee shield appears quickly, however, the little round arrow hiding the volume icon takes a long time to show up.
    The system is Windows XP, SP2.
    Any help would be appreciated.

    vs
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    What does AutoRun's say VS?

    S
     
  3. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Hi GF
    You got me. Please explain how to perform or look up Autorun. :oops:

    vs
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  5. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Got it S
    Have the screen open with many tabs and data. What specifically are we looking for ?

    vs
     
  6. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    S, in case it is the logon tab, here is what starts:

    1.HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Terminal Server\Wds\rdpwd\StartupPrograms

    2. HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\Userinit.ex
    3.HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\Shell.explorer.exe
    4.Mcafee\common framework\udaterui.exe

    5. ShStatEXEVirusScan tray icon.c:\program files\mcafee\virusscan enterprise\ shstat.exe
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2008
  7. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi, just a thought have you ever selected 'show icons for network UPnP devices' under network tasks? Only this sometimes has that exact same effect. It is wrote about in at various places -many google hits- telling you to hide UPnP devices.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Hi MeriaDoc
    Tried what you suggested, well close enough. I had " Show Network Connection in system tray notification area unchecked, so I checked it, rebooted and the delay seems to have gone. Not only that, the "Safely remove hardware" icon is back again.
    Thanks very much for the suggestion.:)
    Have another question, and not certain if I should start a new thread.
    Global Force introduced me to a neat little program: Run Autoruns from Live.Sysiternals.com. I noticed that on the driver tab, that there are at least 6 or more drivers that appear to be obsolete, since there is no info for them other than " file missing". Can I delete these ?

    vs1293
     
  9. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Hi again Meriadoc
    All is not well yet. After several reboots, the long delay problem seems to have just shifted to another area. Now, when booting up, the desktop icons take a very long time to appear. The desktop background comes up quickly, but the few icons take a very long time to appear now:oops:
    Still need help from anyone who has any idea what's going on here.

    vs1293
     
  10. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi, GlobalForce's suggestion is the first thing you need to do checking if the programs are even started.
    It would probably be best to check hide UPnP. There are reasons I suggested that which instead of me writing it all down again I'll give you this link. Have a read of the whole article. The problem can be an obscure one so perhaps one of the fixes may help you.
     
  11. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Hi Mriadoc
    Please have a look at my #6 post where the results of Global Force's question are stated.
    Also played around with your suggestions and have found that off or on, it just seems to transfer the slow loading from one area to another,namely system tray notification area or desktop icon loading. Judging from everything that I have found on the net, everything seems inconclusive at best, so I think I will just live with the slow system tray notification for now and continue to research this issue.

    VS
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Let me ask V .... what's the hardship ratio if you crash and burn troubleshooting this?
    What's the last thing you remember prior to experiencing this lackluster boot?

    You've an HP printer correct? Are you able to physically disconnect and disable it's auto-start?

    Do you know how to clear your event log's?

    What other scanner's beside's Mac are onboard?

    ========================

    PS - Those missing file's would be best left alone - "A valid driver entry does not necessarily have to include a valid image path. If there is none, then Windows will assume the default driver path which is '%Systemroot% system32 drivers' plus filename." Karlchen's fourth post. Granted it's for an older version. Still ....


    Steve
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2008
  13. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Hi Steve, nice to know your name finally :)
    Not sure if this issue it worth chrash and burn yet, but maybe later down the road. I love a challange and will continue to work away at this slowly. Knowledge is King ;)

    Having said that, my HP printer has been connected the way it is for a very long time, and I don't think that's it, but.. one never knows. Not sure how to disable auto-start.

    The only thing that I remember that might have cause this issue is when I removed McAfee ( did use the McAfee removal tool. ) and used AVG free for a couple of weeks, and that's when I started to notice a deteriation in performance. Removed AVG and reinstalled McAfee. (8.5 )

    Come to think of it, I think I also did a repair for IE.

    Only use 1 anti virus, have aSquare Free for malware and use Bitdefender on-line scanner now and then.Also have jv16Power tools. That's it.
    I clear my event logs often, and right now there are no error events.
    Maybe it's time to give it a rest ?
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2008
  14. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Mac's usually specific as far as removal instruct's. Got a page?

    What's jv16 for, registry?

    Have you ever performed a clean boot - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353?

    PS - Autoruns IE addon/plugin's .... how many? Disable should be OK.


    S
     
  15. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Steve, don't have a page for Mac.. just a McAfee cleanup.exe program from work. It's version 2.0.109.1
    jv16 is for registry cleaning and repair.
    Never have performed a clean boot. Is that one with all variables removed ?
    Only 3 in IE addon
    script proxy for Mac, BHO
    Adobe PDF link helper, BHO
    Unistall BitDefender, Browser exstention.
    Will disable all three and see if it makes any difference, though I suspect not.

    vs
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,974
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    vs1293, now I understand why you had a remnant of a toolbar!

    Did you install AVG 8.0.138? If so, it came with a LinkScanner feature via a toolbar in IE. You probably used Add/Remove to get rid of it, right? Why don't you use jv16 and search for traces of either AVG or Grisoft and remove them, if found, then reboot your PC.

    There's an AVG Remover tool but jv16 should find all the AVG traces.
    In case you ever need it, here is the McAfee Consumer Products Removal tool.
     
  17. vs1293

    vs1293 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Hi JR. I did also use McAfee cleanup.exe after I removed it.
    Have not run jv16 for a while, will do so.
    Steve, will download Advanced Windows Care V2 and see what it comes up with. I will give you guys a bit of a lowdown before doing anything after a scan, and yes I will back up my registry prior to that as well :)

    vs
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.