System process at 100% CPU

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by martinatthetown, Sep 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Your not alone!! - I too have the system process at 100% CPU...
    I think its down to the latest MS Windows Updates.. anyone else having this problem??
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ravin

    ravin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Posts:
    241
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    looking at martinatthetown's process list I see that outlook is taking up quite a few resources. their is a known problem in outlook that after closing it outlook continues to run. so if you don't notice it didn't end and open outlook again you double up on resource usage. just a thought. allthough restarting the computer should end any instances of outlook. one last suggestion would be to get a copy of avast free - install it in safemode and select during install to scan at boot time.
     
  3. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    Hi martin and welcome to Wilder's :)
    In just observing your screen shot you do have far to many processes running and you really do need to check what is starting up when you turn your computer on and take the necessary steps in dealing with that issue first before attempting to do anything else.
    If you could post another screen shot of when you have rebooted your computer i will then be able to get your start up in to some sort of order for you. Just having the right start up program's running fixes many things without the need for any further intervention

    Regards
     
  4. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    Thanks all for advice.... this is issue is starting to turn into a nightmare!

    I've restarted the computer, gone through and stopped all none essential services, the problem still continues...

    I've had this problem for acouple of days, I can identify one possible reason:

    I updated my computer with the Microsoft Update - it included 6 updates, which I have since uninstalled:
    KB919007 Update for windows XP
    KB920685 Security Update for windows
    KB922582 Security Update for windows
    KB920872 Update for windows XP
    etc

    it also contained one new hardward driver update, however, like most people, I just installed all recommendations, and paid little attention to what the hardware driver related too. the drivers are not listed on the microsoft update history

    I have been through the system-device manager tonight and painstakeingly roled back all drivers where possible, restarted the computer etc...

    the computer by the way, fails to shut down correctly, poss. because something is failing to close... I also deleted and recreated the paging-file

    my only known solution is to do a full system restore, however, my computer is my job, I have lots on it! and really can't spend a full week reloading the content - after I've backed everything up.... I'm running out of ideas...
    if I did this, whats to say, it will not happen again?
    (the computers a compaq presario, if that helps?)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    I see also that svchoste.exe and system is using quiet a lot memory. Do you have a firewall running. Sometimes application insist in accessing some internet stuff which can result, if they don't reach their destiny, in a temporaly high mem and CPU usage. Check your FW settings and log, if you use one, regarding system, svchoste.exe, etc.
     
  6. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    Hi martin :)
    Can you please remove all of these from starting up as they are not needed. Should they continue to start up may i suggest that you use windows defender which will highlight what is running at start up so you can then disable those above. There is other software that you could use like reg run but i have found windows defender to do a good job
    You can find it here
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4466.html

    http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/software/default.mspx

    The updates you have uninstalled should go back on when you have completed everything and i think in your case you could submit a HJ log for one of our expert's to take a look at just to make sure everything is in order

    Regards
     

    Attached Files:

  7. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    Thanks again for all your advice people!

    I have not stopped fiddling with this problem as it is making my PC impossible to use.

    I agree, I need to manage my PCs configuration, and this could be effecting the performance of the machine, however, I have been using the PC, fulltime as a .NET developer, for the last 6 weeks continuously, in that time, I have not added a program, or changed the configuration.

    Bearing in mind I uninstalled the resent updates.. I just used MSCONFIG to restored the computer to a previous configuration; (to before the updates were added…) This did not solve the problem…
    so I then entered safe-mode with the basevideo option selected… as you can see from attached image… nothings really loaded, is ito_O what am i missing?

    normally,
    I am using Kaspersky Antivirus – which also accesses regular internet based updates, I do not use any third party firewall applications.
    without listing all software installed, the main applications are as follows:
    XP Pro - sp2,
    ie7,
    Visual Studio .NET
    SQL Server
    CorelDRW 11
    and controversally MS Office 2007 beta 2 - which was ran as an upgrade from office XP sp3.
    Napster
    etc
    the computer is:
    Compaq Presario P4-3.x, 1gb RAM, 250+HDD, DVD/CD using a Netgear wireless LAN
    it has other hardware added, eg Scanner, Laser printers, surround-sound etc
    it should be able to handle few startup tasks, it currently struggles to run paint brush... any further advice may help me sleep better! thanks so far...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    one more thing...
    what is a HJ log?? and how do i submit one?
     
  9. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    As i say martin it would be best to post a log to rule out anything unto wards that may be going on. There is a tutorial here in which you can read up on and download the software.
    http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/

    Regards
     
  10. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    Just one idea.
    Please check if you have a IRQ conflict. That could result into the high CPU usage of system.
     
  11. rno2

    rno2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    I was having the same problem. Windows would not even be finished loading after 20 or so minutes.
    It took me a few hours to figure it out. For me it was AOL's free anti-virus that I had decide to test out. I had to go into safe mode and then manually remove any startup registry keys for AOL's anti-virus. Then I restarted normally and completely removed the program. Problem solved.

    I suggest temporarily disabling your security software one and a time and restarting your system, to see if one of them may be causing the problem. I suspect that the new update release is having some problems with resident programs such as anti-virus, anti-trojan and anti-spyware/malware.
     
  12. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    I have not idetified any conflicts, to be on the safe side, i have removed all of my non-essential external hardware
    so, i am left with a basic compaq presario and a internal netgear wireless adapter

    I use the windows std firewall... the virus software is not running in safemode.. nor is the firewall.. so, i am thinking its not a thirdparty software issue.

    I have attached the hijack log- for reference - i do not want to cause further problems to the computer by my mis-intepreting its use, so have not changed any other options, (the log is run from safe mode)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    I really need to see a HJT log taken in normal mode and also

    • Download WinPFind
    • Right Click the Zip Folder and Select "Extract All"
    • Extract it somewhere you will remember like the Desktop
    • Dont do anything with it yet!

    Reboot into Safe Mode
    Restart your computer and as soon as it starts booting up again continuously tap F8. A menu should come up where you will be given the option to enter Safe Mode.

    Doubleclick WinPFind.exe
    • Click " Configure Scan Options"
    • Select " Run Add ONs" and then select ALL the options in the box below it, Press Apply
    • Now Click "Start Scan"
    • It will scan the entire System, so please be patient!
    • Once the Scan is Complete
      • Reboot back to Normal Mode!
      • Go to the WinPFind folder
      • Locate WinPFind.txt
      • Place those results in the next post!. It will be too big to post so you will need to attach it to your reply

    and

    download gmer from http://www.gmer.net

    save it somewhere safe & unzip it to desktop

    double click the gmer.exe to run it and select the rootkit tab, Do NOT select the show all button, press scan & when it has finished press save & copy the log back here
     
  14. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    it looks like its attached it...
    well... its technofobic!... what can i say??

    I hope it means more to you then me!??!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    GMER output - not sure if this is the info u wantd?

    GMER 1.0.11.11337 - http://www.gmer.net
    Rootkit 2006-09-15 10:09:13
    Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2


    ---- System - GMER 1.0.11 ----

    SSDT kl1.sys ZwOpenFile

    ---- Devices - GMER 1.0.11 ----

    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_CREATE F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_CLOSE F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_READ F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_QUERY_INFORMATION F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_SET_INFORMATION F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_QUERY_VOLUME_INFORMATION F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_DIRECTORY_CONTROL F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_FILE_SYSTEM_CONTROL F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_DEVICE_CONTROL F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_SHUTDOWN F6FE0C74
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_LOCK_CONTROL F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_CLEANUP F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs IRP_MJ_PNP F6FDD400
    Device \FileSystem\Cdfs \Cdfs FastIoCheckIfPossible F6FE0BCE

    ---- Threads - GMER 1.0.11 ----

    Thread 4:108 866DCF48
    Thread 4:112 866C5A70
    Thread 4:116
     
  16. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    both logs confirm no signs of any apparant malware or known rootkits so we can quite safely rule those out as a cause now

    That leads us to suspect either a corrupt or damaged driver or something recently updated

    lets see what this shows

    open HJT/press config/misc tools/ tick both little boxes about minor & empty sections & press generate start up list

    post that back here
     
  17. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    Thanks for your help.

    through desperation... I called the MS support team, spoke to a nice guy in new deli who attempted a system parshal repair from the XP Pro disk...
    however, this did not solve the issue

    it elliminated corruption of files, as cause... and left me now using IE6 not 7.

    I have attached the Log file you requested.

    and confirm... I am still using 100% CPU usage... I guess its all pointing to a incompatible driver issue...

    I also tried disabling, std stuff, grapihics, sound, network etc... but nothing i do seems to change anything!...
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.txt
      File size:
      35.6 KB
      Views:
      37
  18. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    Hang in there martin as there many avenues to go down and they may take some time. Once we can rule out malware ETC then we can look at your drivers and services :)
     
  19. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    nothing there either

    your screenshot shows 99% cpu with only minimal memory useage by system process so it must be a driver that loads in safe mode so that brings it down to the basics like Ide drivers or keyboard & mouse driver


    for soem reason I remember a similar case with mouse drivers being the cause
    is your mouse a Ps2 mouse or a USB one

    you could try opening device m,anager & see if any yellow warnings if nothing shows, then uninstall the mouse driver, reboot & windows will install a generic standard mouse driver
     
  20. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    I would really just go through and reinstall all drivers using the latest versions from the manufacturer's website. If you use an nVidia graphics card, try uninstalling the nVidia driver and just use the default Microsoft driver (just uninstall the nVidia driver and let Windows install the one it wants to).

    DPCs using that much CPU almost definitely points to a driver issue. If it started with a driver update, that would be a pretty high suspect. Unfortunately the driver updates through Windows Update tend to be a crapshoot.
     
  21. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  22. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Re: CPU Usage 100.

    thanks for all your advice, I am struggling currently to use the machine at all at present, and can no longer access ie from it...

    I'll try all the options suggested... bare wiv me
     
  23. martinatthetown

    martinatthetown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    hi again!
    Ok, I've tried removing the mouse driver and the mouse!
    thats not the cause, I've also tried to change the keyboard driver, however, it auto detects and installs the current one regardless.

    RATTV3 program produces a report, that I don't understand, it prob. points straight to the problem.... but... I dont know... I don't understand it!...

    I've attached it to this post.... can anyone explain anything?>

    I think that we're getting somewhere wiv this!
     

    Attached Files:

  24. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  25. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.