System image tool in Windows 10 error

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Charyb, Aug 2, 2020 at 2:57 PM.

  1. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    672
    Since Windows 10 updated to version 2004, I have not been able to use the system image tool in Windows 10 without seeing the attached error. I have performed 2 fresh installations and the error persists. I have tried two different portable drives, reformatted each drive, etc. There is plenty of room on C: drive and both portable drives. I have recently installed Macrium Reflect to create images which works perfectly.

    Have any of you seen the error I am experiencing and have a solution? I have searched online and don't see any solid answers.

    Please see attachment.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020 at 3:34 PM
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    14,295
    Location:
    UK
  3. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    672
    The information you provided worked great. I changed the System Reserved volume from 50 MB to 100 MB and Windows System Image worked as it should. This leaves 69 MB of free space on System Reserved instead of 20 MB.

    It's strange that Windows created the System Reserved volume and volume size at installation, yet it's not large enough to run their own tool.

    Thanks a bunch!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 3, 2020 at 4:08 PM
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,888
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Charyb,

    Nice work, you two.

    How did your SRP get to be 50 MB? I've never seen one reported at that size.
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,262
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That's waaaaaay too small...usually, unless a System has been messed with, if it's a Legacy-MBR BOOTed System the WinRE.wim lives there, and that's over 200mB all by itself (the one on my System is 378mB). If it's an UEFI-GPT System the basic MSR is usually created at 16mB (see HERE) because under the Win10 System it is only supposed to assist with partition mgmt., if necessary. Meethinks the System Image Tool in W10 is about to be permanently deprecated. Nobody at M$ seems to know that it uses the MSR for anything.

    The other thing is that the System Image Tool is a leftover from W07 which just happens to work (until now, anyway) under W10. Maybe it's really on its way out...
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2020 at 7:04 PM
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,262
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Just noticed that development/maintenance stopped on the System Image Tool in v1709. The Microsoft recommendation at that time was... "We recommend that users use full-disk backup solutions from other vendors."

    It may have finally broken in v2004 although they haven't removed it yet.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2020 at 7:24 PM
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,935
    thanks for bringing it to attention, trf. :thumb:
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,888
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's no loss. Windows System Imaging is the worst imaging app.
     
  9. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,935
    indeed. i don't even remember the last time i used it. heck, i'm not even sure if i ever did. :D
     
  10. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    672
    I increased System Reserved to 498 MB just to be safe. I hope this will be plenty and I won't be using Windows system image any longer.

    When I swapped out my HDD for an SSD, I told myself I was going to stick with Windows built-in tools only. No Macrium, no Paragon, no CCleaner, etc. It looks like Macrium and Paragon are staying.

    I appreciate the help and information you folks provided.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.