System freezing after installing NOD32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by tormhau, Feb 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tormhau

    tormhau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hello!

    I have recently uninstalled Norton AV and migrated to NOD 32. The problem is that NOD32 freezes my entire system every time I turn on my computer after approximately ~1 minute (from 10 seconds to 3 min after startup).

    Once I have logged in everything seems fine, but without any warning or meassage the system freezes. By that I mean that my desktop (and any programs running on it) freezes, including every keybinding (Ctrl+Alt+delete or smilary). The only thing I can do is to cut the power.

    I tried once to run a full-screen program before NOD managed to crash the system. To my big suprise this actually worked, and nothing seemed wrong! But once I Alt-Tab'ed to my desktop again, the same problem occoured, and I had to cut the power...

    To solve the problem I have tried to run scandisk, deframentation, Anti-spyware etc., and now my computer uses much shorter time to crash than before...

    I don't use any firewall or AV except NOD32, and I have never experienced any smilar crashed like this one before. The version of NOD32 I now use takes the fifth og five licenses, so therebefore we have four other computers (stationary and laptops) that works great with NOD. The PC which crash is in no way worse than the others, have the same operational system, and have (till now) not had any problems.

    Thank you for your attention.

    tormhau
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2007
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello ! Welcome to Wilders!

    Read this post here and perform all suggestions . In addition to it , before you install NOD32 again , download and run Symantec's Norton Removal tool.Norton is famous with uninstallation problems.As you probably know one should run only one AV software at the same time , most likely there is a left over which is confliction with NOD32.You can download it from here.

    Note that you should also enable some firewall in order to protect your computer from unauthorised access (hackers,network worms).Windows XP and Windows Vista have integrated firewall in them.Please , make sure it is enabled , Start->Settings->Control Panel->Windows Firewall.Choose ON and also "Don't allow exceptions".Confirm with OK.
     
  3. tormhau

    tormhau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hello, Hi Tech

    I tried to do what you said, but It didn't make a slightly difference.

    tormhau
     
  4. uc-icq

    uc-icq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    129
    Norton is known for leaving many footprints on your system after it is uninstalled (files and registry entries). I would also advise you to download and run the specific removal tool from Symantec, get rid of the remains and see if the situation improves
     
  5. tormhau

    tormhau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I have tried to run Norton Removal Tool, but it doesn't make any difference.

    tormhau
     
  6. uc-icq

    uc-icq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    129
    Have you updated by mistake any incorrect video/audio drivers, or any autorun program that may have compatibility issues with your hardware configurations? Have you checked up Windows error logs? And what does it say?
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2007
  7. tormhau

    tormhau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    The only autorun programs that I haven't installed on any of the other computers is the programs used by my monitor. Ofc that could be the reason, but I doubt it..

    Btw, how to I check the windows error logfile?
     
  8. uc-icq

    uc-icq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    129
    On desktop, right-click computer, select manage, then event viewer, and windows logs. That's what I do on Windows Vista, can't remember exactly on WinXP, but should be about the same
     
  9. tormhau

    tormhau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    My windows error logs haven't notified any problems, strangely. The PC just keeps freezing, I don't get any warnings or messages at all, not even after a reboot when I have cut the power.
     
  10. uc-icq

    uc-icq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    129
    I'd not say it's NOD related. Sorry I cannot help you as it's beyond my knowledge. If I were you, I'd back up my files and documents, format the disk and do a clean install.

    If you don't want to do this, I'm hoping some more knowledgable person around will be able to help you
     
  11. tormhau

    tormhau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    ok, ty for your help.
     
  12. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    tormhau
    The software for Samsung monitors has been known to have issues with AV's
    We (at work) had to disable AV, install monitor software, set-up monitor, then uninstall it and finally enable AV again.
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't believe a format is needed here. There is a conflict somewhere and with some work, it can probably be found.
     
  14. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    If so , tormhau you may need to uninstall/disable this from running and then try
     
  15. uc-icq

    uc-icq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    129
    try reboot into safe mode, scan partition c: with nod32 for ten minutes or so. if the system doesn't freeze, it's gotta be something to do with installed drivers

    alternatively, run HijackThis to form a system report and upload it here...so people can see what the problem could be
     
  16. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Wilders don't accept HijackThis log files except those asked by administrator,moderator or security expert in special cases.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=31835
     
  17. uc-icq

    uc-icq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    129
    sorry i'm not aware of that
     
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Try running a good Registry Cleaner such as RegSupreme . Just use the free trial version.
     
  19. tormhau

    tormhau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Well, thank you so very much all of you!

    I don't know what made the big difference, but after having deleted my (Samsung) monitor programs, and cleaned up my hard drive (including some symantec files that didn't Removal Tool didn't remove..(Shared files)), and reinstalled NOD in Secure mode, things started working again.

    Right now I'm watching NOD killing some trojans wich Norton couldn't handle: Delicious! :)


    tormhau
     
  20. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Horay! :D

    Thanks for lettings us know :D :thumb:
     
  21. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Result:)
    Those Samsung drivers have a function that checks your driver (graphics) settings to ensure that you do not choose an incompatible mode for the monitor.
    This checking is the problem
    Any decent graphics drivers will show you the correct monitor modes anyway
     
  22. uc-icq

    uc-icq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    129
    Voila! Glad your problem's solved :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.