System Commander and TrueImage

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by natric, Feb 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. natric

    natric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    France
    Does some of you use both System Commander (or other multi-boot software which is able to hidde any partition according to booting OS) and TrueImage ?

    How do you manage to backup entire disk without the drawback to receive a message saying TI will proceed in a sector-by-sector way because of existence of an unknown partition ?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have not used System Commander. I have used Acronis OSS and Grub. I have not had any problems with TI needing to do a sector-by-sector backup. I assume it works with and knows what OSS is doing. Grub is very non-invasive so I don't think it causes that kind of problem.

    From reading various posts I know people use Grub, WinGrub, OSS, BootItNG (I think that's what it's called) and don't remember anyone saying they caused a sector-by-sector backup.

    Perhaps you could supply a few more details. What version of TI? What version of SC? What operating systems are you booting? Do you get the message on all the partitions or just certain ones?
     
  3. natric

    natric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    France
    Well, thanks for your reply (the first in three threads), the fact is that it seems TI is unable to handle an NTFS partition which has been hidden by SC : I explain in detail here (a thread that hasn't received any reply) : https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=935490#post935490.

    I've also tried an other angle, submitting this other thread (also no replies) : https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=939791#post939791

    So, awaiting to understand the reason why, I've work arounded the problem : I don't let SC hides the other partition and I don't assign-it any letter in Win2K... This way, TI well recognizes the NTF partition and everybody is happy.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2007
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I think that the reason for the sector-by-sector image is because TI can't determine the partition format. The purpose of "hiding" a partition is to make in unrecognizable and therefore the OS won't assign a drive letter. In this case SC is hiding it so well that TI can't figure it out.

    Perhaps there are different options for hiding that you could try. Acronis OSS has a "hide" and a "super-hide" option. These function differently in how they hide the partition. I think SC has similar options.

    If you have worked around the problem by just not assigning a drive letter in Win2K and that causes no problems, then you might as well just do it that way.

    If you must use SC hiding, can you unhide the partion before creating the backup or just backup the unhidden partitions? For example: backup XP while in XP; Win2K while in Win2K; etc.

    Basically, I would recommend going with what works the easiest for you. If you want a "base" image that contains everything, then you'd need to unhide the partition(s) with SC, boot from the TI rescue cd and make an image of the entire drive with all partitions recognized.
     
  5. natric

    natric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    France
    Well, effectively the way I've taken seems to be ok, but what I've forgotten to say and surprised me, is that I've tried too with a FAT32 partition which also hidden by SC, and this time, it works : TI well see-it as a FAT32 one !

    So, it's just about SC-hidden NTFS partition.

    Unfortunately, I don't see different ways for hiding through SC.

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.