SysRescue

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by piranha, Sep 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    can we use SysRescue for any infected pc or only for the one with whom SysRescue was made ?
     
  2. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Hey piranha
    I would guess that you can use sysrescue for any infected pc's .You just have to insert your username and password into sysRescue so you can download the newest database signatures.

    Take care

    NoobStick
     
  3. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    someone can confirm ??
     
  4. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    The documentation is clear to me (emphasis mine):

    "ESET SysRescue (ESR) is a utility which enables you to create a
    bootable disk containing ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4 (EAV). The main
    advantage of ESET Recovery CD is that EAV runs independent of the
    host operating system
    , while it has direct access to the disk and the
    entire file system. This makes it possible to remove those infiltrations
    that normally could not be deleted, e.g., when the operating system is
    running, etc."
     
  5. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    this text is not clear to me.

    I know someone who cant updated when booting with SysRescue in antother pc. That is why I want to know if SysRescue work only for the pc it was made with....:doubt: Could have something in the SysRescye disk that recognize the pc.
     
  6. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Maybe the network adapter is unrecognized.
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I have used the sysrescue created on my desktop pc successfully on my laptop as well as my desktop. you can add network drivers if you need to for other computers.
     
  8. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    o_O a rescue cd that cant update virus database that is no good :thumbd: I hope there is another reason update didnt succeed
     
  9. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    It depends on the AIK used. If you use the Win7 AIK you will have more network drivers.
     
  10. rekun

    rekun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    A Sysrescue disc will work on all computers

    If the network adaptor is not recognized, you can add the driver when you build the syrescue CD/ISO
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    you can always create a new sysrescue with the lastest database on another computer then it wouldnt be such an issue. its not hard to open up device manager and see what ethernet card is used and then add the driver before you build the rescue disc. eset is simply using a tool microsoft provides as a platform to host their product on a bootable disc. so you cant blame eset for not poviding drivers for every ethernet card known to man. i have found eset the best rescue disc. i have found windows 7 to have very good driver support so far so use the windows 7 aik if possible.
     
  12. BonskY

    BonskY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Longueuil, Canada
    Hi guys,

    I'm the guys that Piranha referred on his previously post...and maybe we are near to brighten up the problem.

    Before, here’s a short summary of the story...

    I created a SysRescue CD from my computer (WindowXP SP3, Eset Smart security 4 latest versions 4.2.71.2)

    I only found the Window AIK version 6001 for Window Vista , I was uncertain but I read that this AIK was compatible with Window XP SP2-SP3...so I install it with no problem and I created the SysRescue CD and test it on my computer successfully...

    But from my Friend's computer, I was unable to update the database...I was thinking that it’s the internet problem but I tried with Kaspersky Rescue Disk ver 10 and I was able to update the data base.

    But to be honest, before to update, I found how setting up the network connection from Kaspersky Rescue 10 (Start/Network septup/Configure Network adapter/Choose the network adapter...clic yes...)

    So maybe Eset SysRescue CD doesn’t found or identify the network adapter from my friend computer and so it was unable to update the database...
    So, is there a way that we can configure it ? if yes, how ? I didn’t found how to configure it (I will be honest again...me and my friend was take...some strong beers this night...!!!LOL!!!)

    Thanks guys and have a nice week!
     
  13. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    Bonsky

    It is easy to blame the beers.....:blink: o_O ;) We cant know which network adaptor is used by buddy infected pc so it is difficult to build a SysRecue disk for something we dont know. If Kaspsersky one can update, Eset SysRescue should do it too.
     
  14. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    What are you talking about?
     
  15. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    follow the bold types



     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.