Sysinspector issue

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by joelore, May 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joelore

    joelore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Hi,

    Can anyone confirm this? Running a clean install of Windows 7 x64 and the 64-bit version of Eset SS 5.0.65.0. Whenever I run Sysinspector, either from the main program or right from the Eset folder, the program just sits there and never completes. I have to kill the task to get it to stop.

    Thanks,

    Joe
     
  2. wrathchild

    wrathchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Neoplantesis
    No problems here. However, needs a longer time until complete.
    Win 7 x64
     
  3. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    No problems here either on Win 7 X64.
     
  4. joelore

    joelore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    How long? I am talking upwards of 40 minutes.

    Joe
     
  5. joelore

    joelore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Ok after about an hour SysInspector finaly finished. This time is of course unacceptable.

    Joe
     
  6. wrathchild

    wrathchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Neoplantesis
    About 4 min.
     
  7. joelore

    joelore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    I was asked by support to run it in safe mode but that made it worse. It never completed even AFTER one hour and I still needed to end task to end the program. I am running SysInspector now for the hour or so it takes and I will send support a copy of the log file when it is done to see what is going on.

    Joe
     
  8. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Between 4 - 5 seconds on my PC.
    @Joe, have you got any other security software installed?
    Is this a clean installation of the beta or an upgrade from a previous version?
     
  9. joelore

    joelore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Just the default windows security stuff. Clean install of Windows 7 x64. Trying to figure out why things are going so badly with the beta test. This is the only piece of beta software on here.

    Have another issue posted below.

    Joe
     
  10. joelore

    joelore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    I believe I have my trusted zone setup properly however every 1/2 hour or so I get a warning from the firewall that it "Detected a port scanning attack" and it's always from a PC on my home network. I tried to add all the local IP addresses wherever I could to prevent this warning but it keeps coming.

    Any ideas?

    Joe
     
  11. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Have you added your local address range or subnet to the predefined zone 'Addresses excluded from active protection (IDS)' ?
     
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    For those of you who found that ESET SysInspector logs were taking a long time to finish being generated, what sort of hardware are you running the public beta on?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.