Symantec whoopsie?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by YeOldeStonecat, May 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
  2. ink

    ink Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    185
    "People shouldn't panic," Maiffret said. "There shouldn't be any exploits until a patch is produced."
     
  3. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Is this reverse logic? or did I miss something o_O . I always thought that exploits occures while a software isn't patched :eek: ;) :D

    Defineately a whoopsie :ouch:

    Alphalutra1
     
  4. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Yeah.

    Guess Symantec have more important issues, like suing Microsoft:cool:
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    At least it doesn't affect the home version of norton av. just the enterprise version.:doubt:
     
  6. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    eEye: "Other Symantec AntiVirus products are also potentially affected, waiting for vendor list":blink:
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  8. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Maybe CNN should read the eEye alert more careful....

    IMHO "eEye said it appeared consumer versions of Symantec's Norton Antivirus software -- sold at retail outlets around the country -- were not vulnerable to the flaw, though consumers who are provided Symantec's corporate edition antivirus software by their employers for use at home may be affected."

    isn't the same as

    "Other Symantec AntiVirus products are also potentially affected, waiting for vendor list";)
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    symantec makes the corporate and home versions. what other antivirus do they make??
     
  10. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Let's wait for the vendors (Symantec's) list, only in that way we will know the affected products:)
     
  11. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    "At least...(it affects)...just the enterprise version." :eek:

    Great. :ouch:
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    No it isn't good :doubt: but at least it didn't get everyone that uses norton.
     
  13. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
  14. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.