symantec corporate question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Edwin024, Sep 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    Does the 10 version of Symatec Corporate antivirus scan emails in Thunderbird?

    So: if someone sends email that has a virus in it, will Symantec Corporate 10 catches it in Thunderbird?
     
  2. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I am not very sure, but I think it does o_O
     
  3. Siro

    Siro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    92
    Check the documentation along with the antivirus to confirm whether it supports Thunderbird or simply visit the symantec website....
     
  4. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    I did visit the website and looked at the docs...could not find anything specific on Thunderbird... that's why I ask because I guess that more people here use the software... thanks for your oh so bright answer ;)
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I don't know if the enterprise does but the home version will so I would venture to guess that the enterprise does also.
     
  6. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Home Edition of NAV uses a transparent local proxy for email scanning, and will scan ANY traffic coming in on standard POP3 port, regardless of what client {Outlook, Eudora, TBird, etc.} -- even a SpamKiller app accessing POP3 will get scanned.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Sometimes people overlook the obvious although you did not. :D
     
  8. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    Thanks for your answers Bigc, Hammer and Randy!

    I appreciate it very much.
     
  9. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Yes POP3 and SMTP port scanning was added as a feature in version 9.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.