symantec corporate question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Edwin024, Sep 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,004
    Does the 10 version of Symatec Corporate antivirus scan emails in Thunderbird?

    So: if someone sends email that has a virus in it, will Symantec Corporate 10 catches it in Thunderbird?
     
  2. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I am not very sure, but I think it does o_O
     
  3. Siro

    Siro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    92
    Check the documentation along with the antivirus to confirm whether it supports Thunderbird or simply visit the symantec website....
     
  4. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,004
    I did visit the website and looked at the docs...could not find anything specific on Thunderbird... that's why I ask because I guess that more people here use the software... thanks for your oh so bright answer ;)
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,901
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I don't know if the enterprise does but the home version will so I would venture to guess that the enterprise does also.
     
  6. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Home Edition of NAV uses a transparent local proxy for email scanning, and will scan ANY traffic coming in on standard POP3 port, regardless of what client {Outlook, Eudora, TBird, etc.} -- even a SpamKiller app accessing POP3 will get scanned.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,692
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Sometimes people overlook the obvious although you did not. :D
     
  8. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,004
    Thanks for your answers Bigc, Hammer and Randy!

    I appreciate it very much.
     
  9. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Yes POP3 and SMTP port scanning was added as a feature in version 9.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.