Sygate and Online Games

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Brando Ikari, Dec 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brando Ikari

    Brando Ikari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Heya everybody. I haven't played any online games since I installed Sygate, but I know that I will be getting some for Christmas. Now my question is, if you're using Sygate, if you allow a game to access the internet, do you still have to open specific ports to play online games (say Final Fantasy XI)? Thanks for your time.
     
  2. Kulsar

    Kulsar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Posts:
    17
    Sygate will ask you if you want to allow the game to connect to the net. Allow it access and it should be fine
     
  3. Brando Ikari

    Brando Ikari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Ok, thanks for the help :)
     
  4. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Yup, and you will find that Sygate is very good at holding those programs without crashing them while waiting for your response. I used to have ZA and it often crashed applications which wanted access before I could respond. Sygate is both a application and a rules based firewall, so you really can do it either way, should you choose.
     
  5. Brando Ikari

    Brando Ikari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Okey dokey, thanks.

    And yeah, that's one of the main reasons that I left ZA and came to Sygate.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.