Sygate 5.1 loopback issue???

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by tansy, Mar 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tansy

    tansy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    New Zealand1
    Could someone help me understand the loopback issue re Sygate 5.1 when used in combination with WebWasher or Proxomatron? I have been using WebWasher With Zone Alarm Pro 3.1 and other security software, but wish to change to another firewall because my ME based system is getting close to experiencing low system resource problems.
    How serious a security vulnerability is this loopback issue, re WebWasher?
    Thank you.
     
  2. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    It really depends. I find it used be a big issue with me but I started using SSM and felt better about it. I felt it was a big security issue (this was and is my feelings) I'm using Sygate again but I fell safer now. :) But I guess it could be a big issue if you ran into some sort of spyware or trojan that exploit the loop back issue in Sygate.
     
  3. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    I have SSM, too, but it could be serious if you just use Sygate to block outbound. One reason I'm reluctant to buy Sygate is their reluctance to fix this big issue.
     
  4. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi Kiwichick23

    Sygate does not filter traffic (applications) on localhost/loopback. The security concern here when running proxy programs like Proxo is that users will not be prompted to allow applications access to the Internet when they are configured to do so via the proxy. You would still be prompted for rules for the proxy going out to the Internet, but not applications going through the proxy on localhost.

    Depends on how much control you want over applications on your system accessing the Internet. When using a proxy for some applications, the localhost/loopback issue does not allow for full control.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  5. tansy

    tansy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    New Zealand1
    Thanks guys,
    I just might stick with ZA, and dispense with a few recently added resource gobblers. I looked into running kerio 2.15, but I think the rule set thingie might be beyond me. I see I can save another 3% resources by not having a 'wallpaper' set.
    I'll just stop loading the camel with more than he can carry. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.