Switching boot partition

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by churin, Jul 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. churin

    churin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Is there a utility which comes with Acronis DD 10 which allows simply changing active partition among multiple primary partitions? Please note that I do not want to use any utility which modifies MBR.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You can use DD to change the Active partition. If you don't want to use a boot manager, then you'll need to do the changes manually every time you want to switch them.
     
  3. churin

    churin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Does using the Boot Manager mean the original MBR has to be modified?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The boot manager included with DD is OSS (OS Selector). If you install it, it will modify the MBR. Most boot managers will want to modify the MBR.

    Are you needing to change the Active partition a lot? If not, then doing it manually is not too bad. It just takes the time to boot into DD (which is pretty fast, especially if you use a flashdrive and the Safe Mode version).
     
  5. churin

    churin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    I have been using a little utility called pqboot which came with Partition Magic. This utility runs on Windows or DOS. I wondered if there is similar one with Acronis DD. My problem of using Acronis DD only to switch active partition is that booting to the DD takes long time. The DD in Safe Mode as you suggested does not seem to be available for Windows.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried using DD in Windows to change the Active partition? I use boot managers so I don't think I've tried that before. If DD will do the change in Windows, it would affect the next boot-up. However, if you booted into another OS that didn't have DD installed, you'd need to boot to the DD CD to make the change.
     
  7. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    PQBoot has already changed your MBR from the 'standard' MS MBR, so why the insistence that any alternative should not change it? There are alternative boot managers that are much better than PQBoot.

    But I'm puzzled as to why do you want to change the active partition via DD10, doesn't PQBoot work for you any more?
     
  8. churin

    churin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Yes, each partition has to have DD installed or use the rescue disc to do the switching back and forth. The pqboot I mentioned previously is a self standing software that does not need be installed and will run simply by clicking on it which is placed on a data drive. I guess I just keep using this.
     
  9. Doug_B

    Doug_B Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    If you're interested, I use the boot manager GAG, which optionally supports running from a floppy. I use the floppy mode. I use it only for windows partitions, so I don't know how effective it is with any variants of Linux, for example. Works well for changing active partition and hiding the others. I don't boot into alternate partitions often, so I don't keep the floppy in the drive.

    Doug
     
  10. churin

    churin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Yes, I am interested in the Boot Manager GAG. Where can I get it?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.