Swiss Vpn Leaving ports open

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by mike70sk, Jul 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mike70sk

mike70sk Registered Member

Hi i have been using SwissVpn for p2p for about 6 months now. Yesterday i did a grc port scan, first i ran with the vpn off. everything was stealth but port 1 and port 2 were closed.

Then i ran the same test with swissvpn with and with out there firewall and i was astonished to see that it new the name of my pc and my home network name and that accepted an anonymous connection from another machine . It also said unbind" the "File and Printer Sharing but i use a media server.

So i run the full scan and port 135 DCOM Service Control Manager and port 139netbios-ssn are open as wells as 554 Real Time Stream Control Protocol.

Sorry to bombard you with questions

Is this normal to have these ports open when using a vpn ?

Do all vpn's do this ?

I thought the netbios was the port people use to hack into your computer?

Is it possible somebody has already hacked into my computer and added and removed files?

Is there a way for me to close these ports via windows firewall or my router without affecting performance of my vpn. Is it possible they can close them?

Thank you for reading all this, i'm gonna email them but i want to make sure i know what's what before i do.

I look forward to your responses.

Last edited: Jul 23, 2012
  2. mirimir

mirimir Registered Member

That is very odd! I would stop using that SwissVPN setup immediately!

While you're using a VPN, the ShieldsUP! test at -https://www.grc.com/- should be probing the VPN's exit node, not your computer. VPN exit nodes are typically running Linux or BSD, so NetBIOS intrusion is not an issue. Ideally, all ports are stealthed. VPN exit nodes typically do respond to ping requests, and fail that part of the ShieldsUP! test.