SVCHOST.32 - Generic Host Process for Win32

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by FluxGFX, Aug 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FluxGFX

    FluxGFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    667
    Location:
    Ottawa/Canada
    Phant0m``

    Do you have any clue why this would need to have net access for me to be able to surf ? Cause if I remember correctly this thing should not have net access...

    ( Or anyone else that can answer that )
     
  2. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey FluxGFX

    To keep it basic; DHCP, DNS requires it
     
  3. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    FluxGFX,

    Just to make sure. You are not referring to svchost32.exe are you?
    There are several trojans, backdoors and spyware using that filename.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    http://www.wilderssecurity.info/pg16.shtml
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Phantom, :)

    I know. Just making sure about the filename.
    svchost.exe is perfectly OK, svchost32.exe is not.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  6. BlitzenZeus

    BlitzenZeus Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    FluxGFX, In referrence to svchost.exe, the system file only.

    If you go into your services(start -> run: services.msc) you can disable the DNS resolution in that program as what its actually doing is proxying all the dns communications through it, when you disable the service it will stop caching DNS entires, and progams will have to lookup entries on their own. Unless your running ICS, there is no problems stopping the service, then setting it to manual. You can always re-enable it later.

    The DHCP service is required for Dynamcially assigned connections. If you know you don't need DHCP, stop the service, and set it to manual. DHCP might not be auto-started if needed, so in the future if you have a DHCP service, all you have to do is set it back to automatic.

    I'm on Dial-up, and svchost.exe makes no outbound communications on my systems, and all my programs do their own dns lookups, which is the way I like it.
     
  7. FluxGFX

    FluxGFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    667
    Location:
    Ottawa/Canada
    Pieter ;)

    I was refering to svchost.exe and not svchost32.exe ;)
    Just wanted to know little more cause It was annoying me when setting up my stuff ;)

    thx phantom ;)
     
  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Anytime :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.