Suspected DOS attack against certain sites.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by nadirah, Dec 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I am having a problem accessing certain websites, they are:
    www.securityspace.com
    www.friendster.com
    www.blogger.com

    I'm trying to investigate if any other websites are affected. Other sites affected:
    www.bbc.co.uk
    SST 9:18AM:
    www.sgforums.com

    When trying to access the above-mentioned sites, firefox returns a strange result:
    http://[www.:0.com]/actionpage?basi...asondata=&replayhash=246gYnNaKykurw/7ZFCMTQ==

    Internet Explorer 7 says IE cannot display the webpage.
    I can't find any problem on my computer at all, can someone enlighten me about the strange result? What is that www.:0.com?

    Those websites seem to be under a DOS attack. Can someone please help me check them out?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 6, 2006
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I have no problem accessing them. They load fast enough. Both in Firefox and internet explorer
     
  3. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    They load fine here using Opera.

    -rich
     
  4. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I really don't know, but what is that :0 thing in the address doing??
    Take a look at this part of the address when I try visiting those websites! :eek:

    Thx for adjusting the margins.

     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2006
  5. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Are you being blocked for some reason?

    -rich
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2006
  6. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Rmus, I have absolutely no clue as to what I am being blocked by or whether I'm even being blocked!. Of course I wouldn't block myself at all!

    Now tell me, do you find it funny that I can't access a innocent news website such as BBC! Why would I/why should I be blocked by some unknown object for no reason at all? o_Oo_Oo_O And what the hell is www.:0.com

    I even did ipconfig/release and ipconfig/renew and the DHCP server assigned me a new IP address instantly. But I still can't get to those websites!
     
  7. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    No, I don't think it is funny at all; I wasn't implying that.

    I saw "block" several times in the URL you posted and that is what occurred to me.

    I didn't see BBC before in your post.

    I assume there are some sites like Wilders that you can access.

    Were you able to access BBC or the others earlier today?

    If so you might clear all your caches and check again.

    Can you phone your ISP?

    Or Find someone else that uses your ISP and see if there is a similar problem?

    -rich
     
  8. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I'll check with those guys using the same ISP as me.
     
  9. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
  10. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    It does not work. Same result. :cautious:
    It is now occurring to me that only certain websites are affected by this. Including some proxy sites.
     
  11. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    I have a note about www.:0.com having something to do with Proxy, but no further explanation. (I don't have proxy)

    I'll check some more.

    EDIT: that is a false alarm.


    -rich
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2006
  12. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    It sounds like either a routing problem or something with your ISP. You might try doing a traceroute to those sites as well as sites that you can get, see if there's a common server showing up in the blocked sites' traceroutes that are not showing up in the sites you can get to. Next I would check the DNS servers (try the OpenDNS servers: 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220). After that I would say your internet software (try disabling) and as Rmus suggested, call your ISP.
     
  13. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Update: All is ok now. The websites can now be accessed.
    Thx to all who offered their advice and suggestions.
     
  14. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    And how did you fix it?

    Gerard
     
  15. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I did nothing. I just waited for a while and the websites could be accessed. Anyway, everything's back to normal.
     
  16. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Network issues, either DNS or connectivity. We get similar things at work, even with our intranet which spans our WAN (nationally).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.