SUPERAntiSpyware

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by EightOneEight, Jul 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EightOneEight

    EightOneEight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    I'm running on a Windows 7 64-bit laptop.

    My current security setup is as follows:
    - G-Data Internet Security 2011
    - MBAM Pro (paid)
    - Hitman Pro (paid)

    I was thinking about getting SUPERAntiSpyware, but I feel like I'm covered. Am I missing anything?

    Some of you have way too many tools IMHO. My head is spinning just trying to understand the need for all them.

    Thanks.
     
  2. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Welcome to wilders:)

    The setup you have specified pretty much covers most of the aspects of computer protection, here infact many members might do recommend you to add SandboxIE to your setup which I too recommend but I guess its not needed coz you have a really strong combo (Minus the SUPERAntiSpyware)
     
  3. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Outer space
    Using Gdata and MBAM paid you have already 2 realtime scanners. I'd suggest using SAS free version for on demand only, if you want to use SAS of course. In my opinion, using multiple security programs is fine as long as they are different categories(AV scanner, Firewall, HIPS, Behaviour Blocker, sandboxing, virtualisation etc.) 2 scanners at the same time is fine(as long as the second is designed to co-operate with another of course) but adding more will only cause slowdown and may cause problems.
     
  4. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Relax!
    You have MORE than enough Protection.
    No Need to pay for additional software. You have already paid for too much.
    G-Data Internet Security 2011 is enough by itself!

    MBAM FREE -OR- Hitman Pro FREE could have done the job.
    No need to spend money on their Pro versions.
    Anyway, you paid for them now...

    Apart from Paying for MBAM Pro and Hitman Pro,
    you run more than one (G-DATA Internet Security) Real-Time scanners now.
    That's a Resource Waste.
    I hope you have a Strong CPU and a lot of RAM...
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Least we all forget.....Gdata has two scanning engines. That along with HMP, MBAM and SAS is overkill. I would suggest running just Gdata, going demand only HMP and MBAM and adding maybe sandboxie.
     
  6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Outer space
    You all know HMP is on-demand only anyway? It has no realtime protection ;)
     
  7. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    True. Very True.
     
  8. the dummy

    the dummy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    71
    Sandboxie
     
  9. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    back-up/imaging
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I agree with you kasperking! :thumb: But to the OP you can have as many On-Demand scanners you want free or paid but anymore then 2 running in realtime is enough IMO.

    TH
     
  11. EightOneEight

    EightOneEight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    I went ahead and got it. The 50% off deal was something that I couldn't pass up, and the developers seem to offer great support.

    I'm running it on demand at the moment.
     
  12. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Although Kaspersky removes SAS I have not found conflicts. When using KIS I just removed SAS and reinstalled after KIS was installed.
    I have not found any conflicts between SAS and any other applications including MBAM when both are running together and with any AV.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  13. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    I haven't experienced any issues with SAS either. I've run it real-time alongside avast! 5 Pro, Avira 10 Premium, KAV 2010, and KAV 2011 with no problems.
     
  14. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    2 scanning engines form the same company means the same definitions and technology - the bottom line is our company alone receives over 20,000 samples PER day, which means each company receives and harvests their own set of samples, some of it overlaps and a large amount does not - what that means is that it's better to run products that DO NOT use the same definition and scanning engines i.e. SAS and MBAM are great complementary products - they each detect things the other doesn't.

    As long as the software combination is not causing system slow downs or other issues multiple layers of protection is the only way to have a fighting chance these days.
     
  15. tk55

    tk55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Posts:
    63
    thanks superantispy for that info, but that really sucks!!!

    no wonder sometime one worked but the other didn't, in removing malwares that is :(

    it means i have to run both inorder to make sure the system is clean enough. do you know how long would that takeo_Oo_O literally hours :(
     
  16. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    And what do you suggest,SAS and MBAM to be merged together?:D
     
  17. progress

    progress Guest

    HitmanPro with SAS and MBAM engine would be nice :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.