superantispyware ... they spoiled it

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bollity, Jul 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    1-SAS is very slow when starting (v 4.26.1006).

    2-disturbing installing process and you are being asked to update 2 times.

    3-why the free version default setting is to start with windows?? why i need an on demand scanner to start with windows??

    4-everytime you want update you have to download the full signature database.

    5-i uninstalled SAS.
     
  2. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    1. Not noticed any slow down start up from previous versions.

    2. ?

    3. This option is always checked as default - hey, you can uncheck it!

    4. you sure about this?

    5. I kept it installed.
     
  3. prairie dog

    prairie dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    I love SAS and have no issues with it.
     
  4. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    I think I heard somewhere this is true, and it would make sense because usually downloading it took a fair amount of time.
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Left it for MBAM and haven't looked back.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Looking at their Database Definition Information, you can see the size of the download and if one does not have a speedy connection, it would seem quite slow.

    Unlike The Hammer, I keep SAS in my toolbox but have to admit that MBAM is always run first.
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    me too;)
     
  8. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Different from machine to machine.

    Are you referring to signature updates and program updates?

    This gives you the ability to perform right-click scans. As has already been said, disable it if you wish.

    I do not believe this is the case. The window that follows a completed update shows you what has been updated. Sure not the whole data base.
    There is\was another popular scanner thar does download the entire update each time.
    Even if they do I`m sure they have their reason(s). Perhaps you need to contact them with your concerns.

    Suite yourself. It is free.
     
  9. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    1. SAS loads fine for me. Not the quickest but not the slowest either

    2. It only reboots during the initial install and sometimes during version upgrades. If you are getting more than that, your's isn't running right.

    3. Running all the time allows SAS free to appear in context menus for manual scans and also gives easy access to update the program/definition signatures. That said, I do not recommend allowing free SAS to start with Windows. It's still a manual scanner and unless you're scanning with it, the other benefits are just not that important enough to run them all the time.

    4. I'm on dialup at home. Trust me, it downloads both signature files in their entirety every time. Plus if you have more than one user account, it has to download both files for each and every account. IMO, this is the program's biggest issue. It should incrementally update and there should be a common location for the definition files.

    5. It's not perfect. But it's well worth keeping
     
  10. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    if in the next version i see in change log:
    - improved program start speed
    - new incremental updates
    i may install it again
     
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Same here.
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thx for sharing? lol....:doubt:
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Same here! :thumb:
     
  14. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Canada
    There's no point of leaving SAS for MBAM since you can use both with no conflict.
     
  15. Wildest

    Wildest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    304
    I have been wondering about the value of SAS for a while too, even though it is still in my toolbox.
    I used Adaware some years ago, but noticed that all it could find were some cheesy cookies, so I ditched it...
    This may have been around 1999-2000...

    Can't help feeling that SAS is turning into the next Adaware... :cautious:
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it is still a good program but not match mbam why ?cause so manny reasons
    1)mbam can be install even in safe mode:thumb: :thumb:
    2)file assesing
    3)smaller installer/faster
    4)for removal they are similar but i prefer mbam,faster scan:thumb: :thumb:
    5)customer service is top notch/dont know about sas
     
  17. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    You can see my from sig I use a number of free apps for on-demand scanning. None of them start with Windows and they're just there for scanning now and again for piece of mind.
     
  18. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    In other words you've disabled the service of A-Squared then? :blink:
     
  19. progress

    progress Guest

    It looks like this :rolleyes:
     
  20. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Seriously? What... it's suddenly lost its effectivity and trustability?
     
  21. progress

    progress Guest

    It may be effective but I never found any threats on my machine. I also don't like the GUI because it looks like a rogue AS :rolleyes: That's just my opinion, I think there are better tools out there :doubt:
     
  22. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Okay, and I respect your opinions and can see your points.
     
  23. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Yes that's correct.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.