Superantispyware Shocker

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by desertjon, Apr 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. desertjon

    desertjon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Philippines
    I have used Superantispyware off and on over the years and always the portable version..They have since stopped offering the portable..Snapfiles has removed their link as well..I tried the install version 5 today and the download was 9.8MB but when I checked the control panel..it installed at 101MB..The newer programs today are getting out of control in size..I emailed Superantispyware and told them many people prefer the portable and their response was.."Thanks for your opinion" but we have no plans of offering the portable version and you can get the same results from the install version...Same goes with Avast 7..It installs at 268MB customized..Excessive in my book
     
  2. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    That's Awful !!
     
  3. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Maybe it's a bug? I'm not using SuperAntiSpyware but 101 MB for a scanner seems to much? Too bad about the portable version though..
     
  4. desertjon

    desertjon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Philippines
    I agree...and it shows in the processes while scanning 201,749k
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    My SAS Pro is 93Mb, and my Avast! Free is 226Mb. If you have a newer computer running WIN 7, you probably have a HD some where around 1TB. Compare that with a XP generation PC HD, and 226Mb isn't even significant on the 1TB HD.
     
  6. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
  8. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    That is that setup, not portable version, actually. :)
    Portable vesion is meant for USB/CD/DVD, so every MB counts. I like Hitman Pro [14MB], EmsisoftEmergencyKit [140MB] and CureIt [80MB], it used to be much smaller too.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
  9. m0use0ver

    m0use0ver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Posts:
    81
  10. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Newly minted meaning of the word portable ;)
    http://forums.superantispyware.com/...ot-portable/page__st__20__p__26844#entry26844
    "..
    the Portable Scanner Personal Edition is the free edition with a randomized name (to prevent application blocking by name) and bundled definitions (so you don't need internet access.) You can download the software on one computer, copy it to an infected computer, and install with the latest definitions while not needing internet access, which was the point of the previous version. It is not portable in the traditional non-installing software sense, this is true. If you have a malware infection which will not allow you to install executable files, please create a support ticket and we will do what we can to assist.
    "

    instead trying marketing trickery they should just say as it is. For better or worse
     
  11. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    mine says 72.6 meg but still it is too much for me. i have the pro.:thumbd: :thumbd:
     
  12. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559

    Yep. It's a shame that the portable is gone. But honestly, I have preferred other products in recent years away, so I won't lose any sleep over this.
     
  13. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Shocking! :eek:





    .
     
  14. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    Can you please let me know exactly what was said? Whom did you contact?

    The portable has to extract it's definitions as well, so the size would be the same - 101MB on the disk is nothing - it takes that much to be able to have 93MB of definitions to fight malware these days - our system is very optimized compared to many companies in that regards as well.
     
  15. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    Too much to have installed? Have you looked at how big every other product is on your hard drive?
     
  16. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Software seems to be getting fat these days. I just took a peak at my current security setup and there way under that,But with recent hard drive space increase provided today, I would think there would be a couple hundred gigs of hard drve space left.:blink:
     
  17. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    now just for the record why do you thing it is important to compare sas with the rest? we are talking for sas and although i still use it on my pc i believe it is to much. i suppose i am not necessarily wrong:blink:
     
  18. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    It's interesting how people can "estimate" how much space a piece of software should take up to do the proper job - do you tell your heart surgeon "This surgery should only take 1 hour" or do you let them do their job because they are the experts? The amount of space we take up is nothing with today's harddrives.
     
  19. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    with all the respect please ..... now if tomorrow- day hdd will come with more than12 tera-s suppose sas will come to the point of using 500 mega i believe it will be just fine in regards to the space i might have in my machine but it will not be ok with me.... simply i dont believe that a whole malware scanner with many more features uses only 147 mega and sas 102. i know the reason why you use so much space and it does not hurt me at all to have sas while it does its job well ... at least it justifies its space consumption
     
  20. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    I think everyone focusing on the space used is getting caught up in something that really is of no consequence in the real-world - meaning, there are other things that actually could have a real-world impact on your system.
     
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)

    The amount of space SAS takes up is also nothing in comparison to "yesterdays" hard drives either. :cool:

    Try installing on an old 20Gb IDE. :D Still plenty of room for all your customizations and web apps.
     
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    okay I promise to tell my surgeon to take only 1 hour.....now can you trim down the disc space sas takes?:argh: .....seriously though the only thing sas does in my system is sit around eating ram and high disc space as for a antispyware......maybe it's time you should consider going cloud?.....
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    shut your mouth my friend superantispyware served us good when it comes to clean very infected computers and all yo in the forum knows it:D :thumb:
     
  24. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    yeah right :rolleyes: .....sas is doing that all this time.....we users are tired of giving our suggestions and still seeing the same thing happen.....and now get a brilliant analogy between sas disc space and the time surgeon takes....wow Nick where on Earth do you come up with those:D ......
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    aww J?....I'm trying to take my part in criticizing sas.....let me enjoy it:D .....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.