SUPERAntiSpyware not finding anything

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by berryracer, Aug 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    This happened to me once a few months ago on my mom's computer

    Now I have done a fresh install of Windows 7 Professional x64 and whenever I scan, rather than immediately display the tracking/hamrful cookies, it always finishes the scan saying nothing found

    I am using Eset Smart Security, Firefox 15.0 Beta 6, MVPS Hosts File, Ad Block Plus with EasyList + EasyPrivacy + AntiSocial lists

    anyone experienced this before?
     
  2. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe after the fresh install of WIN7 your system is clean. I do an MBAM scan every night and it always says no problems found because there's nothing to find.
     
  3. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,132
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Sound like a clean a machine to me??
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    hmm, but with this same setup, I always used to get a tracking cookie here or there

    maybe it's the EasyPrivacy filter subscriptions that I've added recently that's preventing any bad cookies :)
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    'SUPERAntiSpyware not finding anything' - like that's a surprise.:rolleyes:
     
  6. Handries

    Handries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    Canada
    Recently I did an experiment, as I noticed that SUPERAntiSpyware Professional only did not find anything when I run CCleaner first with cookies on all the browsers that I use checked for removal.
    But when I do a scan of SUPERAntiSpyware before I run CCleaner than the program finds up to 72 tracking cookies,which I find a bit ironic, and I'm wondering if having SUPERAntiSpyware installed is really necessary, as I do have the McAfee Security Suite installed as well.
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Handries,

    I have similar experiences. SAS finds a lot of tracking cookies, but never anything significant. I suppose some are bothered about the cookies, but I also use CCleaner periodically.
    That is the major reason I don't use SAS in real time, but MBAM instead.

    Jerry
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
  9. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    With your list of security products I am not surprised. You have a clean machine. Enjoy it.

    OR would you prefer finding all sorts of trojans and parasites and feel better?
     
  10. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    LOL no but a while back I used to still get like 15-20 tracking cookies everyday the only thing I've recently added to my setup i as the addition of EasyPrivacy and AntiSocial tracking filters in AD-Blcok plus along with the MVPS Hosts file

    so I wasn't sure if there was a problem with my SAS or is it really a clean system
     
  11. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Well you added tracking filters, MVPS hosts so right there the chances for tracking cookies reduced. If you really want to KNOW rather than guess remove those filters or disable them and see if your cookie jar fills up again.

    OR run an online scan from

    ON_LINE_SCANNER
    http://www.eset.com/us/online-scanner/

    If that comes up void of issues you can relax.
     
  12. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Looks like McAfee isn't blocking the cookies or cleaning them either.
     
  13. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    My sas free is set not to scan for cookies.

    AFAIK, Mbam Pro doesn't have that option.

    Neither find anything.

    MSE and PCA says I'm clean. The last time I used avast! I was clean. :)

    I'm not going to argue with those findings.

    :D
     
  14. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Are there any settings within SAS to scan or not cookies.?
    I havent used SAS for a while so im not sure.
    Regards.
     
  15. poison

    poison Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    150
    Yes there is, if you open the main GUI and hit preferences then scanning control:

    SS_20120829_201634.jpg
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.