Sunbelt's Vipre Premium

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sportsfan7700, Sep 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    It seemed like Norton was just draining my pc (only have 2 gigs of ram on a Pentium R) so my question is since I have 88 days left of Norton-and have a license till 2014 of Vipre- Is Vipre lighter on system resources then NIS 2012-I do know that Vipre's full scans take ages.

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  2. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Re: May re try Vipre (have a license to 2014)


    No................
     
  3. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Definitely not.
    If you want "light" think of Eset,Avira,Avast,Panda Cloud,Norton.
     
  4. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    try it yourself. GFI offers a free 30 day trial of the VIPRE product line.

    relying on the input of others is a bit silly as their machine configurations aren't likely identical to yours. "lighter" is generally based on a users' opnion, and different users have different concepts of the term.
     
  5. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    I can't imagine either bogging down a machine with the OPs specs.
     
  6. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    The specs are pretty horrible-but next year I'm going to buy a new laptop
     
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    They are pretty dated, but either of the two AVs you mentioned should run ok. If you PC is slow, maybe it is time to reinstall the OS, and clean out the junk.
     
  8. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    Funny you mention it-just completed a fresh install and installing updates :)
     
  9. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! The only negative I have with Vipre is GFI doesn't seem to use some form of Digital Fingerprinting, meaning the Full System scan is way too long. Sincerely...Securon
     
  10. HealingStargate

    HealingStargate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    I have a rather elder computer and the only security suite I have found that does NOT drain energy and is almost invisible on my system is ESET. Great protection in the version 5 and totally light.

    Just my experience and I have found it to be great security.

    KOR-
     
  11. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    NickH has said it before (and I'm not going to bother searching for it, but he mentioned it in a thread on wilders)- it does use fingerprinting but it's like ESET's in that it only lasts til the next database update occurs. It doesn't generate a monolithic cache of every file on your machine like Bitdefender or others.
     
  12. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    Healing, how elder is your computer?
     
  13. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Mounds, I remember Nick mentioning or alluding to the Scan Times, but can't remember the reference to Digital Fingerprinting, perhaps it might be a fix in Vipre 5. Sincerely...Securon
     
  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I can only tell you my own experience. I have a netbook Asus (Intel Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz-1GB RAM and an old notebook Compaq (Intel Pentium M @1.60 GHz-1GB RAM). Both machines are fairly weak compared to current standards, and I tested Avira, Avast, and Vipre. I decided for Vipre as it was by far the lightest, in fact so light that speed is unaffected in both machines. I have no idea about Norton, you can only tell by testing Vipre on the same machine.
     
  15. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    A-ha-ha-ha ...good joke.
    Avast is one of the most light AV.
    The farry tails is good i never heart before.:D
     
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I can't see what is so amusing about my post: I compared 3 AVs on 2 of my machines and found Vipre to be the lightest. The only joke here is the spelling of your English!
     
  17. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I basically concur with Osaban.
    avast! was not as light on my two XP machines as VIPRE is.
    I used avast! for over 3 years.
    VIPRE has been noticeably faster.
    Note: Although I did run VIPRE Premium, I did not run AIS, so maybe my input is not entirely on topic.
    YSMV
    ;)
     
  18. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Becouse i'm not englishe this is normal and people new that.
    But your stroy is good enought.
    Vipre is no light but is not hevy to....is middle.
    That is the trouth.
     
  19. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    People's experiences and results can be different. That's why they say here at Wilder's to trial the software on your own machine. While I haven't tried Vipre myself I have felt confident enough in the opinions of Osaban and Page 42 to recently suggest it to others.
     
  20. stevan4

    stevan4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Posts:
    85
    The truth!
    Coccinelle is right, I can confirm his statement.
     
  21. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes we know that and it's fine ;) Considering that Wilders is an International Forum with members from all around the globe.

    FYI I find your English entertaining :p
     
  22. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Becouse you do not heart me how i speak more 3 languages.:p
     
  23. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    If anyone asks, just tell 'em you have the FOT extension installed on your browser... Forum Of Trust. ;) :thumb:
     
  24. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1909557&postcount=16

    post by nick, explaining basically how their caching mechanism (yes, a form of fingerprinting) works.

    it doesn't fingerprint files during on-demand scans, but it does during active protection which is, imo, much more important from a general product performance standpoint.

    in the three years i've been using vipre, the on demand scan time has never bothered me, mostly because i don't sit and stare at my machines waiting for scans to finish. i rarely run full scans, and quick scans hit most commonly-infected areas and that's good enough for me.

    back on topic - i use vipre via home site license on 5 different machines, including two netbooks (both ULV AMD CPUs, with 2GB of RAM) a dual core laptop w/2GB of ram and a high performance desktop. all machines run windows 7 ultimate x64. i've had no performance complaints, but if you do run into on-access scanning issues, you can always set it to scan on execution which is sufficient in most cases.

    like i said before, trying it is the best way to see if it would suit your needs.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2011
  25. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Thread closed as per Policy.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.