Sunbelt personal FireWall For vista.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Dark Shadow, Jul 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Whats your thought of sunbelt Firewall.I am On a test drive know with vista.Has a Nice Gui look and simple to use with HIPS,NIPS,Behavior blocker seems pretty light so far.How long will it last before it crash and burns on vista.:doubt:
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Maybe in the next five minutes. Maybe never. Depends on what you mean by crash and burn.
     
  3. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Some third party firewalls say there vista ready but still have some problems running on vista.Crash and burn humor.:D
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Some firewalls say they are XP ready, but still crash and burn.... ;)
     
  5. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Some firewall say they will be Vista ready soon and never are
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Doesn't sound like many people are running the sunbelt FW on Vista at the moment :) FWIW, I'm running it on XP and it's stable. I agree that it has a nice feature set. On my Vista box I'm currently running PC Tools Firewall Plus and I would recommend it if Sunbelt doesn't work out for you.
     
  7. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    I'm using the trial version of Sunbelt Firewall for Vista. I'm wondering what security protection is lacking from the free version? I know it isn't a 'leak' proof firewall like OA or Comodo. Does it resist from being terminated by malware?
     
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    At the bottom of this page there is the usual free vs paid feature list:

    http://www.sunbeltsoftware.com/home-home-office/sunbelt-personal-firewall/

    I think it functions as paid for 30 days, then reverts to free.

    I rather doubt it protects itself too well against termination if that's what you're worried about.
     
  9. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    I'm waiting for another security company to release a Vista version (OA). The Sunbelt Firewall seems the most stable in performance compared with the current field of Vista firewalls. It usually remembers the rules and doesn't crash my programs when I fire up my laptop.

    What does the Host-based Intrusion Prevention System do? That seems like the major feature missing from the free version besides the web filtering and the password guard.
     
  10. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Check their user's guide on the web site.....

    • Host intrusion detection and prevention system (HIPS) — this system recognizes and blocks malware used by intruders or viruses to run malicious codes

    There is probably more in the docs. I recall something about blocking buffer overflows and one or two other things. It doesn't strike me as being particularly effective or advanced at all. I'd look to other products for real HIPS coverage.
     
  11. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    They like to use words like significant improvement over and over with the product description. It would have been nice if they released a white paper on the current firewall.

    I'm using Antivir Premium and Norton Antibot for my other security products.
     
  12. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    If you're using Avira and Antibot, I would think that plus just the basic Kerio firewall is enough.

    "Significant improvement" sounds more like a marketing term than anything else.... ;)
     
  13. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    I have recently installed SPF on my Vista x32 system and so far it seems like a really nice product. I was wondering if you were still using it or have since moved to another product?
     
  14. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Well actually I am no longer using it. I do not really need a firewall because i am behind a nat sp1 router but more wanted it for its hips since there is not much for vista.until I found Zemana antilogger.All the same sunbelt firewall worked fine for the time I used it thanks.
     
  15. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Thanks for the info on it. I am behind a NAT router too but since I use laptops mostly, I want to have a software firewall for when I am in public Internet access.
     
  16. joter

    joter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    Greece
    It is a nice product.

    Regards
    joter
     
  17. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I installed SPF on my setups.Its NIPS (or HIPS) made some issues. I am guessing they don't have a good whitelist.

    Anyways, SPF quarentined many drivers and related files. But other than didn't have any other issues.
     
  18. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    So far I really like it but I have only been running it for a short time yet. Thanks for the info on the HIPS, can you give me a little more details on the kind of issues it made for you? Thanks..
     
  19. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    I ve tested Sunbelt,its nice while trialing ,but when it goes in freeware mode it starts popup ing that is in freeware mode or whatever.2 days stayed in my computer when started to do that.The older version didnt anoyed me.
    When scanned with KAV the downloaded installer of Sunbelt Firewall was recognized as spyware,i hope it was a false positive, though wireshark showed some comunication.
     
  20. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I had downloaded the latest Kerio a few days ago, but hadn't installed it yet, then by chance I installed Eeye Blink Personal tonight to have a look, and Blink flagged Kerio as malware here also... It did something and "fixed" it, but it made me wonder what's in the Kerio installer that some AVs are considering malware?
     
  21. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    It quarentined by WebCam drivers as injection-attacks. And my BT driver for suspicious item.

    I logged a bug report with Sunbelt, they asked me to add them in exclude list. Probably they might have fixed in later builds.
    But since, SPF doesn't have a auto-updating rule base like OutPost Pro. I am not sure, if the changes have been done already ;)
     
  22. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Kaspersky also flagged it as Malware. Some adware.
    I sent the sample to KL, they said it was a FP.
     
  23. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    I dont know, in beta stages BD 2008 Deep Scan was hanging with SFP installed.They put something in this firewall ,in latest version.Im wondering if that comunication can be exploited by an atacker and compromise the computers that use SFP.I cant trust it anymore.As i said Wireshark showed me that SFP was comunicating outside though there is no autoupdate in the software itself and the check for updates was turned off in the GUI.
     
  24. hany3

    hany3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    207

    avira premium also flagged it as malware "adware"

    so that , i think it is NOT a false positive
     
  25. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Its a FP.
    I mailed KL, they have confirmed its a FP and updated the VDB as of Sept 5, 2008.

    I checked now, KIS 2009 doesn't flag it as Adware (Adware.Win32.Dm.qc).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.