SUMo : Keep your software up to date

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Kyle_Katarn, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
  2. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,336
    Kyle, you really need to be checking both versions since developers may only update one or the other and not both. You can't really rely on one specific version type.
     
  3. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Sure !
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,279
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Kyle, question.

    Using PA SUMo.

    I have 'Scan for new software at startup' and 'Check for updates at startup' ticked in Options>Settings.
    What exactly does 'Reload list before check' do? Should I have this ticked?

    I ask because I think I had that ticked previously, and when I added an 'Additional Folder' I had problems with the update check, and eventually just restored my PA SUMo folder from a backup.

    What would be the correct settings and sequence of actions when adding an 'Additional Folder'?
    I do have several folders and files added (and excluded) and don't recall running into problems before, but I am just trying to get to the bottom of where I might have gone wrong this time.
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,279
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    PortableApps.com version 'forgetting' Dark Theme again.

    Still ticked, but needs 'reclicking' the setting to activate?
     
  6. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Hello,

    'Reload list before check' does a full reload (refresh local versions) before each "check" operation. Takes more time but more accurate (but it 99% of cases it's absolutely useless)
    What is exactly the problem you're facing with 'Additional Folder' ? What do you mean by "I had problems with the update check"

    Regarding Dark Theme : if you go to settings again, with Dark Theme "ticked"does it finally apply correctly ?
     
  7. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,279
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Regarding Dark Theme, if I go to settings again, Dark Theme is ticked, but if I recall I have to retick it, then it applies correctly.
    It's on another machine which is inaccessible right now, but the issue is a recurrent one.

    Edit: Dark Mode doesn't 'stick'; I have to retick it each time I use SUMo ... may just be my machine.

    Regarding my 'problems with update check', it was some time ago, so I will need to do another controlled test.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2020
  8. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Any other user reporting this "Lost Dark theme setting" issue ?
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,279
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Note I am using PortableApps.com version.

    I shouldn't think a cleaner is causing the issue as I would expect the setting to be stored in an .ini file?
     
  10. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Maybe, if you see the .ini affected / deleted by the cleaner. Unlikely... but possible :)
     
  11. Z32

    Z32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    51
  12. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
  13. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Southern California
    One question Kyle.
    Where do I find "direct mode"? Is "developer official web site it?
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2020
  14. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Direct mode is in "settings". Available for SUMo PRO only (contact me if you want a discount on it)
    Direct mode is typically official developper's site.
     
  15. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Southern California
    I have PRO for 6 computers but I can't find it.
    I'll keep looking.
     
  16. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Do you mean you can't find "direct mode" setting ? Or can't find your activation code ?
     
  17. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Southern California
    Can't find "direct mode"
     

    Attached Files:

  18. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,413
    Rightclick on any entry - Get Update From...: ...from developers' site (Direct)
    SUMo_rightclick_-_direct-mode.png
    You have already enabled it in your settings.
    (Get Update: Developer official web site)
     
  19. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Southern California
    O.K. Thanks.
    I only questioned the wording of Kyle's description.
    I was beginning to wonder if I did, in fact, have PRO.
     
  20. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Perfect. Thanks @mood for your support !
     
  21. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Southern California
    Keep up the good work Kyle.
    Merci
     
  22. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Long time since no SUMo update.... 5.11.2 is on its way :)
     
  23. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,279
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Please can you investigate again 'Dark Mode' activation on every execution of PortableApps.com version, at least (Pro).

    Further investigation from my side: I now have Scan and Check unticked in Options; SUMo loads, in light mode ... I need to actually open Options>Settings and then click OK, then it changes to Dark Mode (which is already ticked).

    Probably doesn't happen with installed version.
     
  24. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    983
    I was getting worried...

    (and wondered whether it would be 6.0 because it took so "long" ;))
     
  25. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,719
    Yes, it's likely a PA specific issue (conflict between settings loading and settings application with the specific processing on settings done by PA platform).
    Not sure to be able to fix in 5.11.2 if change is needed on PA side
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.