SUMo : Keep your software up to date

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Kyle_Katarn, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    trying this software Privazer
    http://www.privazer.com/download.htm
    in portable way (choosed on setup to work as portable) I can't use Sumo for check update
    Sumo said
    Installer / Uninstaller (PrivaZer setup / Goversoft LLC / 1.1.322.0 )

    privazer_free.exe propieties said:
    - File version 1.1.322.0 that is the last version
    - Version 1.0.0.0

    I don't know why sumo refuse to work with
     
  2. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
  3. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    ahh the portable version works so:
    the initial .exe that seems a setup launches another .exe, which is the real program and a sql file. After running & closing, it then deleted all the files and still return been the initial setup file. I have never seen something like this, is a strange way to get portable a program.
    Pitty, I have sand an email to the Privazer developer because the exe don't had any version in proprety (so sumo can't work for sure), and now that this issue was solved is not possible to check it again :D
    I will put in my bookmarks Privazer's site so I can almost solve
     
  4. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
  5. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    Update situation:
    PrivaZer New version 1.2 now have 3 way working:
    - Installation
    - Running with the strange behaviour I explain before
    - Runnin as complete portable

    I tried the 3° way because I like portable applications and Sumo detect Privazer.exe 1.2.0 so now no more issue, hoping they don't change everything again:D
    Privazer seems more an alpha than a stable version, in a work in progres, with new version every day
     
  6. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    Good news :)
     
  7. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Kyle, I seem to have a couple problems with SUMO lately. WinPatrol System Monitor indicates I have 2.0.2012.0 installed and update of 2.0.2012.1 is available. However, I actually have 2.0.2012.5 installed.

    Also, RoboForm is showing I have 7.7.9.5 installed and actually I have 7.7.9.9 installed, which is the latest.

    No big deals, but seems to be a bug somewhere. Thanks.
     
  8. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    Would you please check in the associated exe file exe properties and check if SUMo is wrong or if editors have "forgotten" to update their file's properties ?
     
  9. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks for reply.....I have checked the exe files. It appears RoboForm has forgotten to update their exe file's properties...it is showing 7.7.9.5, so SUMO is correct in the recognition.

    However, WinPatrol has apparently updated their exe file's properties...they are showing 2.0.2012.5 correctly.

    Appreciate your fast response....like I said - no big deal on these.
     
  10. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    You're welcome :)
     
  11. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    This is a virus full of toolbars and trojans as detected by MBAM!! Stay awayfrom this crap guys!
     
  12. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    This is not a virus at all but a security tool.

    Toolbar are optional during install just like in most stuff you probably recommend.
    "Lite" installers and portable builds (zip/7z) have NO sponsors at all.
     
  13. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I understand if there was one toolbar but there are a Myriad of toolbars and if one wasn't careful, he would end up with a mess
     
  14. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I have been using SUMO for several YEARS now and NEVER had any indication of problem from MBAM or SuperAntiSpyware, or my Virus Program. It is not full of toolbars unless you choose to allow them to load. User awareness is important when downloading anything. I take issue with your choice of words - this is not crap IMHO.
     
  15. Alicelost

    Alicelost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Posts:
    27
    berryracer SUMo is one of the best programs of its kind.
    and if you ware more carefull and watched your install instead of click click click
    then you would not have this problem .

    as Kyle_Katarn says "Lite" installers and portable builds (zip/7z) have NO sponsors at all''

    There is no call for calling SUMo crap,
    Shame on you :mad:
     
  16. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    Thank you dear users.

    To everyone : No flame war, stay cool, stay kind :)

    Btw : SUMo v3.3 is on track to be released within a few minutes.
     
  17. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    SUMo - 3.3.0 (Released 2012-07-15)
    ==================================

    Get SUMo Now !

     
  18. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    great idea the skip feature mr Katarn :thumb:
    works great here
     
  19. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    Glad to see you are satisfied with it... it has been a long awaited feature for many users :)

    Next release will add more complementary sub-features : skipped updates editor (just like ignore list) + deadline modification
     
  20. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    yes in fact i was asking a skip application manager\editor as is for ignore list but you anticipate my desire :D
     
  21. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    It's so good to be phased-in with users :)
     
  22. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    I'm trying Windows 8 RP 64Bit and Sumo seems working well :thumb: ... and thanks god my computer seems working well too:D

    Update; found a little bug, I don't know if in older version was present
    If you choose not check beta versions in SUMO, program still continue shows beta and suggest to update
    It happens with almost all Nvidia drivers, opera browser (it shows v 12.50 that is opera next = beta), foobar (version suggested 1.1.14 is stil beta) and others
    Even if 99% of users have beta version checked i think is good if you look at this issue and solve.
    It happens to a friend of mine too so is not only my pc with this bug
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2012
  23. d0t

    d0t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    I'm pretty worried :ouch:

    http://www.emsisoft.com/en/malware/?Trace.File.sumo!E1
     
  24. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,813
    Blatant false positive

    Rk is optionnal and not proposed in nork and lite installers
    Zxangi has never been proposed.

    You are using a poir anti malware product.
     
  25. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    Mr. Katarn you saw my previous post with a possible bug?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.