Suddenly unable to restore backed up images with TI 11 build 8027

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Kritker, Dec 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kritker

    Kritker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    71
    Greetings:
    I am suddenly unable to restore images using True Image 11 build 8027. Upgrading to build 8057 is not an option since it won't install (discussed in a different thread).

    I am running Win XP Pro SP2.

    Attempting to restore an incremental backup (image 2) from the second, most recent of two backup dates, using "Restore disks or partitions", selecting the C partition but not the "MBR and Track 0" option

    results in the following message:
    W00040011: Please insert the media marked "Volume 1:. ,,,

    Attempting the same restore from the initial full backup produces the same result.

    Attempting to restore a slightly earlier full backup of the same system partition actually seems to work. It had failed earlier but now that I was trying to determine the error message it seems to work.

    I can throw away the backup that wouldn't restore BUT once again my confidence in True Image has been shaken.

    Does anyone have any ideas what the error message above actually means? Is it the source volume (it must be since I haven't yet been able to specify the target volume) or the destination volume (unlikely since I haven't yet been able to specify the target volume) that the message is complaining about? Why, when I obviously have access to all the partitions on my two hard drives, call them volumes 0 an 1 or volumes 1 and 2, including volume 1 whichever way they're labeled, does True Image complain about volume 1?

    I really wish program designers would include MEANINGFUL error messages so that we poor users get at least SOME IDEA of what is wrong. Better yet, design programs that are a bit more resilient.

    Thanks.

    ADDENDA:

    Incidentally this problem occurrs both from within Windows and from within the (full) Linux version on the boot CD.

    By "volume" does Acronis mean "partition"? Even this interpretation doesn't help since I hadn't yet reached the point of specifying a target partition and I had already successfully found the archive on the source partition.

    Does this message have anything to do with the original partition from which the archive was made? Even this doesn't seem relevant since I was trying to restore back into the same partiton on the same disk.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2007
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    "Volume" is just a split or portion of the backup image. It could be a DVD or (possibly) a split on a hard drive.

    How is your image named?
    Is it in splits?
    Is the backup image on DVDs?
    Is the backup image you're trying to restore in its own folder (on a hard drive) or is it in a folder with other backups?
    Are there numbers at the end of the filenames? (A filename list would be helpful.)

    Sometimes TI will get the splits confused if the filenames get crossed or mixed up.
     
  3. nganvu

    nganvu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Why not upgrade your TI 11 to build 8053. May be it will help!
     
  4. evvivame

    evvivame Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    Hi MudCrab,
    I have same problem (see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=194034) with ATI Home 11.0.0.8053 and I can replay:
    a) How is your image named?
    C.tib (full)
    C2.tib ( 1° differential backup )
    C3.tib ( 2° differential backup )

    b)Is it in splits? NO
    c)Is the backup image on DVDs? NO on HD
    d)Is the backup image you're trying to restore in its own folder (on a hard drive) or is it in a folder with other backups? YES
    e) Are there numbers at the end of the filenames? (A filename list would be helpful.) I's point a)?
    Thanks
    Luciana
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello evvivame,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that all parts of the image (i.e. full archive and differential one, or full archive and all incremental ones up to the one being restored) have to be in the same location in order for the archive to be restored.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 11 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Were the differentials created in order from the C.tib file?
    If you rename C3.tib, can you validate C2.tib and C.tib?
    If you rename C2.tib and C3.tib, can you validate C.tib?
    Are you getting any error messages when you click on the .TIB files (not a valid TI image, etc.)?

    This answer can't be "Yes" as it's two questions. The images are either in their own folder by themselves or they're in a folder with other backup images. If they are not in a folder by themselves, make sure no other filenames are conflicting.

    No, it's not Point A. I don't recommend ending a "base" .TIB image filename with a number. It can sometimes cause TI to get the sequence wrong.

    For example:
    my_c_drive_backup.tib is okay
    my_c_drive_backup_12-07-2007.tib may cause problems if you do incrementals or differentials because the names will be ...20072.tib, ...20073.tib, etc.

    It's very easy to just end the filename with an underscore "_" like ...2007_.tib and avoid the problem. You can also choose a name that ends with a letter, 12-07-2007 C Drive.tib.
     
  7. evvivame

    evvivame Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    MudCrab,

    first of all : thansk for your help !!

    As reorder the situation and the ideas, I have make (now!) this steps:

    1) create a new folder F:\Backup (partition F in on the HD, same of C: )
    2) start ATI Home v11.0 8.053
    3) create a new task as incremental–backup from C: to F:\Backup
    4) start it
    5) at end , I find C.tib size 3,2GB (file, of course, in F:\Backup) (the folder was empty, for this it’s is a full backup)
    6) start again the task
    7) at end , I find C2.tib size 31MB (little size because it’s a incremental backup) (file, of course, in F:\Backup)
    8 ) start again the task
    9) at end , I find C3.tib size 30MB (little size because It’s a incremental backup) (file, of course, in F:\Backup)
    10) i have renamed C2.tib to _C2.tib (simulation of a remove of C2.lib archive)
    11) start a “verification archive” (1) on C3.tib ..but I see :
    W00040011 pls insert the media marked “Volume 2”
    12) start a verification archive” on C.tib: it's endet without errors !


    The question is: on a incremental chain, why the 'n' incremental backup need of previus incremental backups ?

    (1) I use “verification archive” but the error is present also on a restore

    Thanks
     
  8. Dave Burton

    Dave Burton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Mysterious W00040011 error when verifying backup

    I have Acronis 9.0 (build 5854, 12/2006), and I have the same problem. What does this cryptic W00040011 error mean, anyhow?

    I backed up a Windows Vista partition onto an external USB hard disk drive, formatted in FAT32. Since my intention was to burn the backup to DVDs, but FAT32 won't handle 4.2 GB files, I told Acronis to split the archive into 700 MB pieces. The backup worked fine, creating 25 files:

    full_backup_of_Toshiba_T2450_Vista_HDD1.tib
    full_backup_of_Toshiba_T2450_Vista_HDD2.tib
    ...
    full_backup_of_Toshiba_T2450_Vista_HDD24.tib
    full_backup_of_Toshiba_T2450_Vista_HDD25.tib

    All but the last are 734,003,200 bytes in length; the last is tiny.

    (Note: Acronis really needs an option to split into an exact divisor of a single-sided or double-sided DVD, e.g., ~1.4 GB = 1/3 of a single-sided DVD.)

    I then burned them all onto 4 DVDs: parts 1-6 on the first, 7-12 on the 2nd, 13-18 on the 3rd, and 19-25 on the 4th.

    Then I went to a different computer and (using the Acronis rescue media) told it to verify the archive. I fed it the 4th DVD, and eventually it prompted for archive no. 18. So I fed it the 3rd DVD, and eventually it prompted for archive no. 12. I fed it the 2nd DVD, but I got this error:

    W00040011: Please insert the media marked "Volume 12".

    My first thought was that the DVD might be bad. So I took it out and examined it under a light: it looks absolutely pristine. So I took the DVD to another computer, and copied full_backup_of_Toshiba_T2450_Vista_HDD12.tib from it onto the hard disk drive, with no errors.

    So the DVD is good.

    So what is wrong? What does "W00040011" mean?


    Also, I'm using build 5854. Is that the last build of TrueImage 9.0? It is circa 12/2006, I believe. That is barely over a year ago, yet Acronis seems to have removed all downloads, and even all MENTION of TrueImage 9.0 from the support area! That is VERY unsettling. :(


    Dave Burton
     
  9. Dave Burton

    Dave Burton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Re: Mysterious W00040011 error when verifying backup

    Oops, my bad. It is build 3854 (downloaded 12/23/2006).

    Is that the last/final version of TI 9.0?

    Dave
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Mysterious W00040011 error when verifying backup

    If you split the image and burn the splits onto DVDs, you have to copy them all back to a hard drive to Validate or Restore. I think the only DVD Validation or Restore works on DVDs created directly with TI. In any case, with four DVDs, you'll be swapping like crazy (if you could get it work at all).

    If you want a specific split size, you just enter the size in the box. A lot of people recommend 1492MB (which TI changes to 1.457GB) as this lets three files fit nicely on a DVD with very little wasted space. It also lets you use the ISO format instead of UDF.

    For TI 9 Home, build 3,854 is the latest (and last) build.
     
  11. Dave Burton

    Dave Burton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Thank you, MudCrab! I'm gonna try to remember that 1492 MB ("Columbus sailed the ocean blue"). But, just in case, I've written it with a Sharpie on my TrueImage CD.

    Dave
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.