Stuck with the German language Version?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by wolf, May 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wolf

    wolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    I can't really recall what made me buy the German language version of TI 9.0.
    Maybe it was that it seemed to be decently localized (which is is, after all) and being German, it seemed the porper thing to do.
    I wish I hadn't. I'd be better off with an English version and don't really need a German translation anyway.
    What I did not realize at the time however, is that the language versions are treated as separate products.
    A policy that I cannot really understand.
    There seems to be no way that I can flip over to the English version now.
    Or did I overlook something?

    Why would I want to?
    Well, I am bit tired of waiting for the translations every time a new version comes out, and I never have the newest built because of this.

    So ... any help with this?
    Acronis support, maybe?

    Thanks for any and all info on this
     
  2. Caranthir

    Caranthir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Count me in here. I don't understand why it usually takes several weeks for the localized builds to be available. Most of the time it's only internal fixes etc. that don't change the UI, maybe Acronis needs to think about a more efficient method of localization.
     
  3. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Gives them a chance to iron out new bugs before releasing the other language versions.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  5. wolf

    wolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Re: Not stuck with the German language Version

    I did as Anton suggested and was generously given a code for the international version of TI 9.0.
    I have not yet used it, but I have hardly any doubt that if will work :)

    thanks very much, Acronis
     
  6. Caranthir

    Caranthir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    And you can still use your German version? Because I contacted tech support too but their response was they can only switch me to the English version, I won't be able to use the German version anymore.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Caranthir,

    Well he probably could but that would be contravening the terms of the End User Licence Agreement. Also, I suspect he wont be able to obtain further updates for the German version as Acronis will have amended his personal account.

    Understandable, as you only ever purchased a single licence.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2006
  8. wolf

    wolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Can't tell you, Caranthir. I didn't come around to install it yet.
    I can well imagine that they blacklist my old German version. But for me that's fine - I've got have what I wanted.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Caranthir and wolf,

    Please note that the English version of the software was provided as a replace of the German version. In other words, your German license was replaced with the English one.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.