Stuck on p-4 Blackspear directions

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by JYT, Aug 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JYT

    JYT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Extra settings for Nod32

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    1. Click on “Browse”.

    2. Browse to where Nod32 is installed, typically where you see in this screenshot.

    3. Click on the Eset folder.

    4. Click on “Nod32.exe”.

    5. Click on “Open”.
    1. This is what you should see now. ...I can't find a command line that looks like the below.

    2. Place in the “Command line” all appropriate “Switches” that suit your requirements. In this screenshot you will see that I am using /local this will scan all of my drives.

    3. Click on “OK”.


    From what I can see, the following switches should give the greatest and maximum strength scan:

    /adware /ah /all /arch+ /clean /cleanmode /delete /heur+ /log+ /mailbox+ /ntfs+ /pack+ /quarantine /scanboot+ /scanmbr+ /scanmem+ /scroll+ /sfx+ /unsafe /wrap+


    Your scan settings will start with:

    C:\ (single space) /switches go here - see screenshot

    ******************

    I got lost on at this point (page 4) of Blackspear's settings. I do not see anything that looks like the above, nor do I know how to capture my computer's screen and post it in this message. print screen command didn't work. Was able to follow pages 1-3 OK.

    Thankyou Blackspear for your tutorial. Never would have made it to page four without the pictures to guide me.

    How do I check the command line here?
    Thanks for your help
     
  2. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi JYT,

    What you are referring to begins at post #70 - can you do that step OK?

    edit: I've noticed as I go back and forward between the pages they sometimes seem to get a little out of order or something at times - looks like some of the steps from the totally silent scan get mixed in with the normal one. It's probably only affecting me, but If you start from that link I've just posted and work through it forwards from there it should make sense.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2006
  3. JYT

    JYT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    What you are referring to begins at post #70 - can you do that step OK? Yes. I made it through pages 1-3. There did seem to be some redundant information as I found myself thinking "I already did that" in a couple areas. Still, more instruction better than less when one is a novice!

    I got hung up on page 4 when I could not find what appears to be a DOS line. Haven't gone anywhere near DOS in years so I do not know if the lengthy command line is DOS language or not.

    I will assume that my computer is configured correctly even tho I cannot find the command line to prove or disprove that assumption.

    Thanks, NOD32 User, for your help.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi JYT, when you get to page 4 you should be most of the way through setting up a schedule to run a weekly scan, at this point when you click on "Browse" you then need to navigate to C Drive> Program Files> Eset and click on the file named NOD32 (if you have "view system files" checked then you will be able to see the extension as well, as in you will click on NOD32.exe).

    Next, copy and past the command line that begins with C:\ /adware /ah /all /arch+ /clean /cleanmode /delete......

    Then click on "OK" and this finishes the Scheduled task.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. JYT

    JYT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Blackspear. I appreciate the hand holding as I am still a bit lost. I followed your instructions best I could. I navigated to NOD32.exe via windows explorer, I think. Anyway I got there.

    In the scheduler box I clicked on "add" and pasted the command line from page 4 there. A new box with tick arrived that began with /adware/ in NOD32 task update with special settings under my profile. After I thought about it for a bit I went back in and specified c:\ (inserted a space here) /adware /whatever --the entire line from your instructions on page 4.

    There are now 6 entries on that little screen. The two beginning with "automatic" are without a tick. (NOTE: I did not see an "OK" button. That means I probably put the command line in the wrong place??).

    WAs that the correct process and result? :blink:
    Thank you for helping me get this right.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2006
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    My pleasure.


    You should have been able to click on “Browse” and navigate to the Eset Folder found in the C Drive and then Program Files.

    Could you make a screenshot by holding down the “Control” key and press “Print Screen” on your keyboard, then open up Paint (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and click on Edit and then Paste.

    Then upload a screenshot here.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. JYT

    JYT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2006
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    OK, lets start by right clicking on the Scheduled task as indicated.

    Then click on "Edit"
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Make sure your scheduled task looks like this screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 01.gif
      01.gif
      File size:
      9 KB
      Views:
      177
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2006
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Change the name from C:\ /adware.... to "Weekly scan of C Drive".
     

    Attached Files:

    • 02.gif
      02.gif
      File size:
      9.3 KB
      Views:
      178
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Place in a time and day
     

    Attached Files:

    • 03.gif
      03.gif
      File size:
      9.6 KB
      Views:
      177
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Choose one of the 3 options.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 04.gif
      04.gif
      File size:
      9.9 KB
      Views:
      176
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Click on "Finish".
     

    Attached Files:

    • 05.gif
      05.gif
      File size:
      9.2 KB
      Views:
      178
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    1 = Click on Browse.
    2 = Click on the drop down arrow.
    3 = Click on your local disk C Drive
    4 = DOUBLE Click on Program Files
     

    Attached Files:

    • 06.gif
      06.gif
      File size:
      31.7 KB
      Views:
      2
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2006
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    DOUBLE Click on the "Eset" Folder.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 07.gif
      07.gif
      File size:
      21.7 KB
      Views:
      171
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    1 = Click on NOD32.exe or NOD32
    2 = When you do the above it will place it here.
    3 = Click on "Open".
     

    Attached Files:

    • 08.gif
      08.gif
      File size:
      21.3 KB
      Views:
      171
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2006
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Now we will "Copy and Paste" the command line into its window.

    Highlight the following line and right click on it and click on "Copy"

    C:\ /adware /ah /all /arch+ /clean /cleanmode /delete /heur+ /log+ /mailbox+ /ntfs+ /pack+ /quarantine /scanboot+ /scanmbr+ /scanmem+ /scroll+ /sfx+ /unsafe /wrap+

    Paste the above line into where you see it in the screenshot.

    Click on "OK".
     

    Attached Files:

    • 09.gif
      09.gif
      File size:
      10.3 KB
      Views:
      165
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2006
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You will now see the following screenshot.

    From here on in you should be able to follow the remainder of the Tutorial.

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • 11.gif
      11.gif
      File size:
      34.6 KB
      Views:
      164
  19. JYT

    JYT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Blackspear: You are a sweetheart! :cool: Great teachers are born, not made. Your Mama had something to do with your ability to educate.

    My screens all match yours--with exception of what must have occured when I first opened the execution file--the reboot phase for settings to take effect page. Other than that everything matches. WA-Hooooo!

    I don't understand what prevented my attachment of screen shot into earlier message and why it was necessary to post jpg on photobucket. Wilder screen said "processing" but picture never showed up. Thinking it must be my Zone Alarm Pro firewall--or something in IE settings--that wouldn't allow that post.

    Thank you. I much appreciated the extra guidance and support.
    JYT
     
  20. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Well my wife thinks so ;) :D


    Not in this case, it stems from seeing bullies pick on the weak… I also like to take the mystery out of things, and if I can, I like to show others how easy it can be…


    Good to see :D


    It may have been simply because the image was oversize, there is a limit of 200.0KB


    My pleasure.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.