StrokeIt and StrokesPlus on Windows 8?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rasheed187, Feb 28, 2014.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    Is anyone using Strokeit on Win8? It doesn't seem to work for me.
    The only thing that I would like to do, is moving back and forward in Win Explorer. :)

    StrokesPlus seems to be too complicated. Also, StrokesPlus managed to hijack my mouse even when sandboxed by Sandboxie.
    I couldn't use my system anymore, I had to reboot. Can anyone test this perhaps?

    http://www.tcbmi.com/strokeit/

    http://www.strokesplus.com/
     
  2. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i tried StrokesPlus for a few months but it's been buggy in my experience.

    i use StrokeIt in Windows 8.1 without a problem.

    to go back and forward in the Windows File Manager just map Alt Left and Alt Right to two gestures.
    that can be used in any web browser as well.

    ask if you need more help.
     
  3. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    using mouse gestures is almost like using a touch screen on a tablet.

    my most often used gestures:

    * Back= Alt+Left
    * Forward= Alt+Right
    * Page Up= HOME
    * Page Bottom= END
    * Close Window/Quit= Alt+F4
    * Refresh= F5
    all others that one uses frequently; Copy, Paste, Minimize/Maximize windows, etc...
     
  4. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    hi
    can you setup firefox page forward / backward?

    and increase/decrease the transparency of a window?
     
  5. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    if there is a keyboard shortcut for it then you can map it to a mouse gestures.
    you can also do more, like launch programs.
    but i digress.


    Firefox backward and forward is like for any browser: Alt+Left and Alt+Right.
    for transparency, check out the Firefox keyboard shortcuts to see if there's a shortcut for that.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    I really can't make it happen, can you post some more info?

    I've tried to copy the IE settings to Win Explorer, but nothing happens? :(

    http://s13.postimg.org/astlmrwjr/Screen_Shot001.png
    http://s13.postimg.org/55x8pau13/Screen_Shot002.png
    http://s13.postimg.org/9gbwkvz47/Screen_Shot003.png
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  7. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    edited:
    see post below
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    here:

    ccc.png
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    @ moontan

    Well, there must be something strange going on, because I really can't make it work. :doubt:

    I'm thinking about giving StrokesPlus a try again. Thanks for the help. :thumb:
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    hi
    may i ask you a question?
    can you with stokeit create an action for a website?

    i'm tring to do it with stokeplus, i was not able to register in their forum :(

    thanks
     
  11. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i have no idea.
    i never saw the need for it so i never looked into it.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    can you please check it? if i can setup strokeit or strokeplus to work for a website?
    thanks moontan
     
  13. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i have no interest in spending time on this as i see no use for it.
    it might take me an hour or 2 to figure it out.
    if it even works at all...

    sorry.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Quick update:

    This time, StrokeIt did work out of the box on my new Win 8 machine. :)
     
  15. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    what's a good gesture program for windows 8.1 tablet?

    i've used gesture programs in the past, but they were designed for the mouse usually with right button pressed. obviously a touchscreen gesture program should be able to recognize when a user wipes with two or three fingers, for example, and things like that which you wouldn't do with a mouse.
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    hi
    may i ask a question ?
    did you find the strokeplus 64bit buggy?
    i run w8.1 and w7 64bit but the 32bit seems to work better
    i was not able to use it with metro, can you do it?

    and about firefox there some site , that with clicking -> goes to the next page , like 500px , can you create it an action for it

    thanks
     
Loading...