strange messages w/ opfw?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by siberianwolf, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    on one of my PCs, when i have outpost fw installed,from time to time i get some strange system messages, such as "windows is on a long process, if you want to....", "do you want to upgrade to version 2060", etc. weird thing is, i get this first message about long process when i click "restart pc" or "turn off pc" buttons of windows. for the messages appear for a short time, i couldn't catch the whole message, but it's similar to what i quoted. i downloaded opfw's installation file from agnitum's website. so i don't think it's related to installation file. and the version is the latest available on agnitum's site which is 6.5.3 (2518.381.0686). i turned off all logging features of opfw. what might be the source of these problems? thanks in adv.
     
  2. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    I also run the latest version of outpost,and I never get these messages - something is definitely not right. I'm willing to bet you're infected with some sort of malware, if I were you i'd run a full malware scan and see if it finds anything - good luck :doubt:
     
  3. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    thanks, chrome_sturmen. but i had my pc scanned with avira, nod32, avg, kaspersky, norton, mbam, sas, a-squared, spysweeper and counterspy. (of course, with the av's, installed one at a time). but they found nothing but some tracking cookies and some FPs. as i stated in my first post, when i click "turn off pc", sometimes i get this message (very often) and it makes me have to click "turn off pc" again. at firs click, sometimes i get no messages but, nothing happens and i get to have to click "turn off" button again.
     
  4. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    why not uninstall outpost, then check and see if your error has gone, or if it's still there?
     
  5. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    i already did it 3 times. when opfw not installed no problems at all. but everytime i have it installed, these same problems happen to appear again and again. couldn't figure out why, but they do.
     
  6. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    did you use the same installer? if not,try getting another copy from the agnitum site,and try it again. press on, and you will get it figured out :thumb:
     
  7. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    no, every time with different installer. but, still...
     
  8. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    hm - perplexing,and thats all i can think of in the way of troubleshooting at present. if no-one can offer any help, try manny carvalho over at the agnitum forums - he knows his stuff real well and is always quick to help out. in any case, i wouldn't give up - i've spent days working to resolve problems like this,till i finally got it figured out. good luck:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2009
  9. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    will do. thanks.
     
  10. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    you're on a 64 bit pc arent you?
     
  11. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    no, 32-bit. why? are there known issues with opfw on 64-bit platforms?
     
  12. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    Not that i'm aware - but over on the agnitum forums I saw that someone mentioned your problem in conjunction with 64 bit pc. If I were you i'd ditch this thread and concentrate on the one that manny is trying to help you in :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.