strange messages w/ opfw?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by siberianwolf, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    on one of my PCs, when i have outpost fw installed,from time to time i get some strange system messages, such as "windows is on a long process, if you want to....", "do you want to upgrade to version 2060", etc. weird thing is, i get this first message about long process when i click "restart pc" or "turn off pc" buttons of windows. for the messages appear for a short time, i couldn't catch the whole message, but it's similar to what i quoted. i downloaded opfw's installation file from agnitum's website. so i don't think it's related to installation file. and the version is the latest available on agnitum's site which is 6.5.3 (2518.381.0686). i turned off all logging features of opfw. what might be the source of these problems? thanks in adv.
     
  2. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Location:
    Sverige
    I also run the latest version of outpost,and I never get these messages - something is definitely not right. I'm willing to bet you're infected with some sort of malware, if I were you i'd run a full malware scan and see if it finds anything - good luck :doubt:
     
  3. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    thanks, chrome_sturmen. but i had my pc scanned with avira, nod32, avg, kaspersky, norton, mbam, sas, a-squared, spysweeper and counterspy. (of course, with the av's, installed one at a time). but they found nothing but some tracking cookies and some FPs. as i stated in my first post, when i click "turn off pc", sometimes i get this message (very often) and it makes me have to click "turn off pc" again. at firs click, sometimes i get no messages but, nothing happens and i get to have to click "turn off" button again.
     
  4. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Location:
    Sverige
    why not uninstall outpost, then check and see if your error has gone, or if it's still there?
     
  5. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    i already did it 3 times. when opfw not installed no problems at all. but everytime i have it installed, these same problems happen to appear again and again. couldn't figure out why, but they do.
     
  6. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Location:
    Sverige
    did you use the same installer? if not,try getting another copy from the agnitum site,and try it again. press on, and you will get it figured out :thumb:
     
  7. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    no, every time with different installer. but, still...
     
  8. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Location:
    Sverige
    hm - perplexing,and thats all i can think of in the way of troubleshooting at present. if no-one can offer any help, try manny carvalho over at the agnitum forums - he knows his stuff real well and is always quick to help out. in any case, i wouldn't give up - i've spent days working to resolve problems like this,till i finally got it figured out. good luck:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2009
  9. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    will do. thanks.
     
  10. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Location:
    Sverige
    you're on a 64 bit pc arent you?
     
  11. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    no, 32-bit. why? are there known issues with opfw on 64-bit platforms?
     
  12. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Location:
    Sverige
    Not that i'm aware - but over on the agnitum forums I saw that someone mentioned your problem in conjunction with 64 bit pc. If I were you i'd ditch this thread and concentrate on the one that manny is trying to help you in :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.