Strange happenings with Opera

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by ~*Nat*~, Oct 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    Hi,

    I've downloaded Opera a few days ago just to see how I like it.
    Very nice...especially tabbed browsing.

    All of a sudden yesterday evening, I was automatically logged out of here - Wilders and another site.

    I kept trying to re-log on but not successful.
    (Had to use IE to finally be able to log in again.)

    So, today I launch Opera again, and this weird pop-up came up !

    (Please see attachment)

    I should say that nobody else was logged on their user accounts or something.


    I do want to say though on a personal note, that I like Firefox & Opera very much.
    But yet I can't help but feel "naked" when surfing. o_O :doubt:


    Anyone can give me ideas on what may be wrong or happening.
    Thank you soo much in advance !!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    See:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=534618&postcount=5

    It's happened twice to me.

    EDIT: I remembered making notes on this from the Opera newsgroup. Comments from some posts:

    As far as I know, this error shows up if you restart Opera after closing
    it, and the process hasn't been terminated yet. I get this every time when
    I restart within, say, 3 seconds, but maybe something may cause Opera to
    hang around a while longer. I have the impression the voice plugin may
    cause Opera to close more slowly.
    ------------------------
    You get that warning if you close Opera and them immediately try to start
    it again, or if they try to start it twice. Even people with Opera
    installed for multiple users get that message if they try to open Opera
    before it has closed properly.
    ----------------------------------
    If you've already waited some time, then the real problem is that for some
    reason Opera is failing to close properly.
    -------------------------------------------
    Also people who set their history too large. Sure, remembering the last
    100,000 visited sites can be a convenience, but it slows Opera down saving
    or loading that file.



    -rich
    ________________
    ~~Be ALERT!!! ~~
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2005
  3. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    Thank You rich :)


    I just started Opera and closed, but nothing happened so far.



    And what about the weird occurence about me not being able to log on ??
    Could this be a bug ? I was able to be logged before !
    With this problem I doubt I want it to be my main browser - understandibly so, hmm ? ;)

    I will see what and IF something happens next.
    I will let you know !


    Thanks again rich for your time ! :)
     
  4. chew

    chew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    GeordieLand.
    Yes, I asked this before.

    I don't think there is a problem. If you get log out from WSF then you must make sure you Cookies is set to Accept All Cookies and turn it off when you log off from WSF.

    This is the Opera thread I posted

    Check it out.

    :)
     
  5. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    chew: LOL ! Sorry, but I couldn't help but giggle. Looks like we both almost had a heart-failure from thinking our puter is "possessed" by some hacker, hahaha !

    Oh well...it's annoying - true.
    Even more annoying when Opera won't remember my login infos. :doubt:
    (Yes, cookies set to accept !! ;) )
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    If you will notice that when you installed Opera it gave you the option to install with individual users or all users use the same settings. If you install with the seperate user settings it will show another user is useing the browser if it was not exited completely and allowed to close all the way, about 5/10 seconds after closing it. If it was installed with all users settings the same this problem is absent. Sometimes seperate user option will still show that the browser is in use even after a reboot.
     
  7. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    Hi bigc *waveing*

    Yes, I installed it for multiple user on this computer, but as far as I know noone but me has been online so far. And I haven't been on the other accounts to check.
    Still learning Opera. :)

    I know now that this is happening not only to me.


    But I don't know about the log-in problem.... :doubt:
     
  8. Dalek

    Dalek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Sometimes this does happen to FF, where their has been an error and it has closed down, and you sort of click on the icon to get it back up and up pops this window asking which profile do you want to activate, to get around this I have to open task manager and find the firefox process and stop it, then go and restart FF, and it starts right away, I think I have heard an offhand eplanation that it may have something to do with your DNS where the lease expires and the ISP provides a new lease. My FF browser quit on me earlier and when I look at the details for the Network Connection Details, it shows the lease obtained at 7:41 PM 3/10/2005, so during this it may kick you out of the browser, just a thought. :doubt:
     
  9. _Lyn_

    _Lyn_ Guest

    "Another user is running a copy of Opera.."

    i see that message here with install for single user! I also noticed when that happens it changes the entries in the ini file located in the Opera\Profiles folder from

    Check for new Opera=0
    Browser JavaScript=0

    to

    Check for new Opera=1
    Browser JavaScript=1

    which REALLY pisses me off. What made me examine the ini was blocked packets to 193.x.x.x (opera.com)

    So, I again reset both to =0 then deleted this line:

    First Update Delay=1000

    from the same ini and so far it hasn't displayed the message. If it occurs again I'll set it to 'read only' see what happens. If it keeps doing it i'm going to **** can Opera8 as it will have completely lost my trust.
     
  10. _Lyn_

    _Lyn_ Guest

    Installed v8.5 last night -again as single user- on a friends computer. Same message. Tried this routine today and everything appears to be ok:

    1. install. (duh)

    2. close the 'first run' tab only, not Opera itself.

    3. close Opera

    4. delete 'First Update Delay=1000' and add the two lines posted above to ../profile ini.

    5. reopen.

    -will post back in this thread if anything changes.
     
  11. Carver

    Carver Guest

    It hasn't happened to me in Opera 8.5 yet, it is my default browser. It has happened in firefox and Outlook Express, when it does I bring-up Task Manager and Kill the process firefox.exe. In the case of Opera it would be Opera.Exe and Outlook Express would be msimn.exe. As to the cause, AFAIK when ever the application is prevented from fully closing the .exe is left running but the application is gone. I rarely use IE, I only use it for Windows update. And the error message can mean you have more than one .exe running also.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.