Strange error message from B&R Suite 10 System Backup

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Piko71, Oct 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Hi,
    I am a total newbie so may be my question has an obvious answer on this forum but I can't find it.

    I installed my B&R Suite 10 and made the system image with System Backup. It is installed to do it every week and keep two of them on the disk.

    Today morning I found this error message on my screen.
    SystemBackupError.jpg
    I wonder what does it mean?
    And I wonder how an serious software can generate such a message?
    Please help me to understand what happened to my system. It is Win7 64 Pro
     
  2. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Piko71,

    Wow :eek: I have never seen such errors. Did you get it just once?
    Did you try to run backup after it? Does it work?
     
  3. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Mech_An
    No, I got it twice, every time the scheduled System Backup been made.
    Not manually but... see up there ;)

    Can it has something to do with sleep mode which starts after 2 hours?
    Or may be with the Win7 problems to mount one of the USB disks?

    What you think?
     
  4. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    I suppose, the issue is related to Hibernation mode.

    I would recommend you to contact Paragon Support team (http://www.paragon-software.com/webform). They will give you exact answer on this matter.
     
  5. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Hi,
    Thank you. I did it and I let you know if I'll get some answer.
     
  6. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Hi,
    They couldn't find out what it was. The last answer was:

    Dear Piotr, thank you very much for your reply. I'm sorry that the description of the error code was not definite. :( The fact is that the developers who are working now did not right these error codes - they were inherited from the developers who had worked before. And unfortunately there is no description about the code left from them. I understand that it is a big problem and we need to improve this situation. We will try to do it.

    From that time I put the power option in High Performance mode and do not get the error message :argh:
     
  7. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    I have google the error/ It appears that it is related to Windows specific error.

    Could you please check if there are errors in Windows system log?
    please save and post here full System LOG:
    * Right-click My Computer and select Manage
    * Go to Event Viewer – System
    * Right-click System group and select Export
    * Select TXT format and click Save.
     
  8. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    I tried to save Windows Log of System but it is a little different on my W7SP1. I can't attach 7 Mb file and to divide it in exactly 1 Mb bits it seems impossible :eek: .

    Here is the first portion anyway:
     
  9. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Here is more of it!
     
  10. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Why not use http://www.7-zip.org/ (free) to compress the log file.

    You will have a .7z file, add .txt at the end and post that up
     
  11. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    AND THE LAST ONE
     
  12. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    @SIW2
    The answer is easy... didn't know that I can change .zip to .txt :oops:

    It's pity that I did all this work for nothing.
    Thank you anyway!
     
  13. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    LOL - never mind.

    Actually , you don't change a 7z file - you just add .txt at the end , so you can post it as if it were a txt file, like this:

    View attachment example.7z.txt

    The recipient just removes .txt from the end , and they have a .7z file.
     
  14. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    That may error may indicate a problem with a .dll ( ole dialog ).

    Try running sfc and see if that fixes it.

    To do that:

    Type cmd in start search box.

    When the little black box pops up, rt click it and run as administrator

    In the black window, type :

    sfc /scannow

    then press enter.

    Windows will check and try to replace corrupted files.
     
  15. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Well, I did it, but it seems not there the fault is hidden. :mad:

    SFCScan.jpg
     
  16. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    SFC doesn't always do the job - but it was worth a try.
     
  17. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Yes of course!

    There is the possibility that my efforts to mount the USB driver permanently repaired this problem but it should be seen in the log. Unfortunately I can not to analyze the log and found out if so it is.

    The only thing I can do is to put my computer in sleep/hibernate mode before Tuesday 23.55 GMT and see if I get this strange error again:mad:

    Piko
     
  18. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    I get the error again just some minutes ago. This time I opened Windows Log System before I closed error's window and I found an event marked Error.

    I copied some events before and after.
    View attachment WindowsLogSystem.txt

    Then I looked at the error event and copied it here.
    View attachment Error.evtx.txt
    There is something about HDISK5 so I checked Disc Manager but there is nothing for me to find.
    DiskManager.jpg

    May be now can someone help me, please!
    Piko
     
  19. Piko71

    Piko71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    @Mech_An

    I hopped that you where on the way to find out what fault it is. Did I misunderstand your post?

    Piko
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.