stopping floating ads ??

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Bethrezen, Apr 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi all

    im wondering if anyone knows of a way to stop anoying floting ads and banners etc such as the one found here

    http://windows.about.com/od/registry/

    see if i add *.js* to my pac file i can block it but problem is that that blocks all java script which interfears with the normal operation of other pages like this board for instance
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    The only ad I get is the earthlink ad, is that the one you are talking about? That is a flash ad you can kill that one by disabling flash. I said the earthlink ad but it changes, it is the one on the top left to center?
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2005
  3. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi

    if you scrole down the page you will see the floting bar that im refairing to i can post a screen shot if ya dont see it
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I don't see it either, I'm using the Moox build of Firefox.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I think my browser is blocking it. see screen shot
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    I can see it in Mozilla, Firefox, and K-Meleon. Javascript.
     
  7. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Using Opera - if I disable Javascript, I don't see it...

    Later versions of Opera have a drop-down menu (F12) to enable/disable these things with one click. I leave JS enabled and then can quickly disable it on sites where necessary...

    Regards.
    ---
    Rmus
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    useing netscape with javascript it is still blocked
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    That's pretty neat! What version are you using?

    I'll have to dl Opera 8 to see what's changed...

    ---
    Rmus
     
  10. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have opera 8 and netscape 8 and I prefer netscape. it just takes a little getting used to like anything new.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.